LibGuides: CSC1023 Introduction to Computers: Books

Google Limited Preview Books

With permission of publishers, Google Books provides a limited preview of some print books. You can search within the text of the book and access certain pages (that are part of the preview). Although you are not able to read the entire book, you may be able to find valuable information on your topic.

Church Administration Handbook / edited by Bruce P. Powers. Introduces the church administrative staff to the areas needing regular attention, including the use of church electronic ministry tools.
Church Next: Using the Internet to Maximize Your Ministry / by Aubrey Malphurs and Michael S. Malphurs Provides a balanced look at the twenty-first century challenges of uniting ministry with technology. By examining reasons behind the decline of American Christianity, the authors illustrate the urgent need to make strategic use of Internet technology to reach the upcoming generations.
Computer Communications / by R. Cole. This presents techniques used in computer communication.
Computer Security Basics / by Rick Lehtinen, G.T. Gangemi Sr. Describes complicated concepts such as trusted systems, encryption, and mandatory access control in simple terms. It tells you what you need to know to understand the basics of computer security, and it will help you persuade your employees to practice safe computing.
Computer Security Handbook, / Set edited by Seymour Bosworth, M. E. Kabay, and Eric Whyne. Computer security handbook offers guidance to recognize threats and either eliminate them or reduce the risk.
Computer System Security: Basic Concepts and Solved Exercises By Gildas Avoine, Pascal Junod, Philippe Oechslin Designed to expose students and others to the basic aspects of computer security. Written by leading experts and instructors, it covers e-mail security; viruses and antivirus programs; program and network vulnerabilities; firewalls, address translation and filtering; cryptography; secure communications; secure applications; and security management.
Computers for Beginners (Wikibooks) "Computers for Beginners is a book for people with little or no prior computer knowledge. It will teach basics moving slowly toward more advanced topics. The primary learning technique will be tutorial examples since they facilitate learning more effectively. There will be adequate theory prior to and explaining the examples so the user learns what the computer is doing instead of just memorizing keystrokes and mouse clicks."
Creating Church Online: Ritual, Community and New Media / by Tim Hutchings. What needs to be done? That is the question when a church wants to go online.
Exploring Religious Community Online: We Are One In The Network / by Heidi Campbell Investigates religious community online by examining how Christian communities have adopted internet technologies, and looks at how these online practices pose new challenges to offline religious community and culture.
Foundations of Computer Security / by David Salomon. Basic information on computer security.
Give me that online religion / by Brenda E. Brasher Explores the meaning of electronic faith and the future of traditional religion. Operating online allows long-established religious communities to reach hearts and minds as never before. Yet more startling is the case by which anyone with Internet access can create new circles of faith. Bringing religion online also narrows the gap between pop culture and the sacred.
Guidelines Communications: Tell Your Church's Story A Book telling how a church can communicate its message more effectively.
iCloud: Visual QuickStart Guide / by Tom Negrino. Helping users learn to use the icloud tools with all the electronic devices.
Introduction To Computers And Communication / by D. Ravichandran. This offers information on the many aspects of computers.
Introduction To Computers / by Rajmohan Joshi. This covers many aspects of computers and their use.
Leadership Handbook of Management and Administration / edited by James D. Berkley This substantial resource offers pastors and church leaders practical insight into the daily issues of running a church. Conceived and compiled by the editors of Leadership journal, this book covers the full spectrum of ministry practice. Readers will learn about perennial topics such as time management, negotiating the terms of a call, handling crisis and conflict, hiring and managing staff, conducting special fund drives, spending church money, and dealing with tax and law considerations.This revised and expanded edition of a proven ministry resource contains new contributions from prominent ministry leaders. Contributors include Leith Anderson, Rick Warren, Brian McLaren, Luis Palau, John Ortberg, Aubrey Malphurs, and many others.
Religion and Technology in the 21st Century: Faith in the E-world / by Susan George The use of sound systems and computers in public religious expression is just one way technology is being used in religious circles. Yet, what is often overlooked is the way that religion is shaping technology through philosophy and morality. This book examines the relationship of the two areas, and provides insight into the impacts religion and technology have on humanity.
Take Control of iCloud / by Joe Kissell. How to work with each of the iCloud tools.
Technology Tools for Your Ministry: No Mousing Around! / by Tim Welch. Using computers in your ministry.
The Essential Guide to Computer Security: For Your Home and Small Office / by Robert R. Rowlingson Written for the non-technical home and small-office computer user, this guide teaches “digital commonsense”. The reader will learn how to counter the risks to their children, finances, privacy, and data. The book has relevance for all devices, independent of operating system. Topics include: confident online shopping and banking; secure e-mail; backing up data; choosing good passwords; cookies and other privacy threats; curing viruses; working securely at home.
Thy Kingdom connected: what the Church can learn from Facebook, the Internet, and other networks / by Dwight J. Friesen Shows those involved in ministry how they can maximize already existing connections between people in order to spread the Gospel, get people plugged in at their churches, and grow together as disciples.
Web Design For Dummies /by Lisa Lopuck. Web design for those needing help. It tries to cover the things that should be covered.
Web Design: Introductory / by Jennifer T. Campbell. An introductory book. Use the index to find the page numbers that are blue. Those topics should be available.
Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry / by Mark Stephenson. How to begin to get the church using the tools which are so well known on the Internet.

Search Google Books

Search WorldCat

WorldCat is a worldwide catalog of library materials. It's a way for you to discover which libraries near you own the item. WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one easy search box.

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
COMPUTER security	computers and churches
COMPUTER security software	computer +virus protection
HACKING (Computer security)--Prevention	computer +hacking prevention
COMPUTER hackers	computer viruses
MALWARE (Computer software)
COMPUTER viruses
ANTIVIRUS software
UTILIIES (Computer programs)
PHISHING
DATA protection
DATA encryption (Computer science)--Software
FIREWALLS (Computer security)
FILTERING software
BROWSERS (Computer programs)--Security measures
COMPUTERS--Access control--Passwords
SUPERVISORY control systems
INTERNET--Access control
INTERNET--Security measures
PASSWORDS
E-mail systems--Security measures
COMPUTER network resources--Religious aspects--Christianity
INTERNET--Religious aspects--Christianity
COMPUTER networks [AND] CHURCH work