LibGuides: CSC1023 Introduction to Computers: General Reference

Reference Works

A reference work is a book or serial publication that contains useful facts and information such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauruses, almanacs, and catalogs. Generally, reference works are consulted for particular pieces of information, rather than read from beginning to end. Most reference works are compiled by a team of contributors whose work is coordinated by one or more editors rather than by an individual author. Updated editions are usually published as needed, in some cases annually (e.g., almanacs, who's who). NOTE: Dictionary definitions and very short encyclopedia entries can be used as a beginning point in your research, however, do not count these sources as one of the "minimum of three" academic resources. Interacting with more in-depth academic material will help raise your score.

BCS Glossary of Computing and ICT Designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used.
Dictionary of Computing Covers all aspects of computing, including hardware, software, peripherals, networks and programming, as well as many applications in which computers are used, such as the Internet or desktop publishing. It also describes the latest developments in networks, the Internet, communications, programming, multimedia, processor design and storage technology.
Dictionary of Multimedia and Internet Applications: A Guide for Developers and Users
Encyclopedia of Computer Science Provides an historical timeline highlighting the key breakthroughs in computer science and technology, as well as clear and concise explanations of the latest technology and its practical applications. Its unique blend of historical perspective, current knowledge and predicted future trends has earned it its richly deserved reputation as an unrivalled reference classic.
Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy / Stanford University
Webster's New World Computer Dictionary Current coverage of the latest standards and protocols in storage, memory, peripherals, and more—plus updated and expanded information on computer security, legislation, and computer and Internet technology. Cross-referencing throughout directs you effortlessly to related terms and concepts that help you understand more about a given subject and put it into a larger context.

Search Reference Books

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
COMPUTER security	computers and churches
COMPUTER security software	computer +virus protection
HACKING (Computer security)--Prevention	computer +hacking prevention
COMPUTER hackers	computer viruses
MALWARE (Computer software)
COMPUTER viruses
ANTIVIRUS software
UTILIIES (Computer programs)
PHISHING
DATA protection
DATA encryption (Computer science)--Software
FIREWALLS (Computer security)
FILTERING software
BROWSERS (Computer programs)--Security measures
COMPUTERS--Access control--Passwords
SUPERVISORY control systems
INTERNET--Access control
INTERNET--Security measures
PASSWORDS
E-mail systems--Security measures
COMPUTER network resources--Religious aspects--Christianity
INTERNET--Religious aspects--Christianity
COMPUTER networks [AND] CHURCH work

Additional General Reference Resources

Perry–Castañeda Library Map Collection
Bartleby Great Books Online Literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with access to books and information.

Bible Commentary Quick Search This link opens in a new window Enter Scripture reference.

BibleGateway A tool for reading and researching scripture online -- all in the language or translation of your choice! It provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in multiple Bible translations.
Diccionario Español
Dictionary / Thesaurus

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica is the oldest English-language general encyclopedia. Encyclopedia Britannica Online is the website of Encyclopedia Britannica, with more than 120,000 articles that are updated regularly. It has daily features, updates and links to news reports from The New York Times and the BBC.

Holman Christian Study Bible