LibGuides: BIB3012/3 Genesis: Books

Google Limited Preview Books

With permission of publishers, Google Books provides a limited preview of some print books. You can search within the text of the book and access certain pages (that are part of the preview). Although you are not able to read the entire book, you may be able to find valuable information on your topic.

Abraham's Faith in Romans 4: Paul's Concept of Faith / by Benjamin Schliesser
Abraham, Israël and the Nations: The Patriarchal Promise and Its Covenantal Development in Genesis / by Paul R. Williamson Focuses on the promises in Genesis 15 and 17, and concludes that they are concerned with two distinct but related issues. Genesis 15 guarantees God's promise to make Abraham into a great nation, while Genesis 17 focuses chiefly on God's promise to mediate blessing (through Abraham) to the nations.
Beginnings: Ancient Christian Readings of the Biblical Creation Narratives / by Peter C. Bouteneff Explores how first-millennium Christian understandings of creation can inform current thought in the church and in the public square. He reaches back into the earliest centuries of our era to recover the meanings that early Jewish and Christian writers found in the stories of the six days of creation and of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden.
On the reliability of the Old Testament / by Kenneth Anderson Kitchen This book will help with the project, especially pages 485 and following.

Commentaries

A commentary upon the first book of Moses, called Genesis /by Simon Patrick. (1695) This is an early commentary on Genesis. It uses the Old English letter "s" unless the letter is the last letter in the word.
Bible Commentaries (StudyLight) This collection of over 100 older Bible commentaries includes those used by scholars over the years.
Expositor's Bible Commentary: Genesis–Leviticus. Revised Edition./ by Tremper Longman, III and David E. Garland. "The title of this work defines its purpose. Written by expositors for expositors, it aims to provide preachers, teachers, and students ... with a ... comprehensive commentary..."
Genesis / by Johannes G. Vos An easily read commentary.
Genesis / by John H. Walton. (NIV Application Commentary) In addition to the commentary, this has Scripture, subject, and author indexes.
Genesis / by Russell R. Reno Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible.
Genesis / by Tremper Longman III. (Story of God Bible Commentary) This includes the comments on Genesis plus how the passages would appear from a New Testament perspective.
Genesis / by Walter Brueggemann Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
"In the Beginning ...": A Verse-by-verse Commentary on the Book of Genesis ... / by John R. Rice Verse by verse with many study notes added.
The Book of Genesis, Chapters 1 - 17 / by Victor P. Hamilton. (NICOT) Volume 1 of the New International Commentary on the Old Testament.
The Book of Genesis: Chapters 18-50 / by Victor P. Hamilton (NICOT) This massive and scholarly work provides linguistic, literary, and theological commentary on Genesis 18-50. The overarching theme of the author's commentary is Yahweh's faithfulness to his promised word and his covenant commitments to those whom he has chosen to receive that promised word. This work will greatly benefit scholars, seminarians, and pastors who seek solid exegesis of Genesis.

International Commentaries

International Commentaries Commentaries or parts of commentaries available in many languages.

Word Studies

Girdlestone's Synonyms of the Old Testament Read the directions on how to use this resource.
Old Testament Hebrew Lexical Dictionary Read the directions to understand how to use this resource.

Atlases

Discovery House Bible Atlas/ by John A. Beck. Chapter Two begins with creation.
Kregel Bible Atlas / by Tim Dowley. The Old Testament chapter begins with Abraham.
New Moody Atlas of the Bible / by Barry J. Beitzel Chapter One gives a general introduction to Bible lands. Chapter begins with Genesis.
Zondervan Atlas of the Bible / by Carl G. Rasmussen. it has Historical Maps covering areas mentioned in Genesis.

Archaeology of the Old Testament

Archaeology and Bible History / by Joseph P. Free and Howard Frederic Vos. Book covers the archaeology and history of Bible lands.
Historical Survey of the Old Testament / by Eugene H. Merrill This is an uncompromising introduction to the realities behind the Hebrew scriptures.
Lives of Ordinary People in Ancient Israel: When Archaeology and the Bible Intersect / by William G. Dever An illustrated handbook for students of the Bible.
NIV, Archaeological Study Bible, eBook: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical ... Scroll down for list of chapter covered. This is a Study Bible issued by Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary and Zondervan Publishers.

Use of the Old Testament in the New Testament

Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament / edited by G. K. Beale, D. A. Carson Quotations and allusions from the Old Testament and where they may be found in the New Testament.
Handbook on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament: Exegesis and Interpretation / by G. K. Beale The author "...combines a beginner's guide to the study of the use of the Old Testament in the New Testament with a detailed catalog of resource material..."

Search Google Books

Search WorldCat

WorldCat is a worldwide catalog of library materials. It's a way for you to discover which libraries near you own the item. WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one easy search box.

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
BIBLE. Genesis	"documentary hypothesis"
BIBLE. Genesis--Theology	"justification by faith"
BIBLE. Genesis--Authorship	Ancient Near East [in Title] [AND] Genesis [in All Text]
BIBLE. Genesis--Criticism, interpretation	"Patriarchial period" in [All Text]
DOCUMENTARY hypothesis	Jacob narrrative [in Title]
J document (Biblical criticism)
D document (Biblical criticism)
E document (Biblical criticism)
P document (Biblical criticism)
ABRAHAM (Biblical patriarch) [AND] FAITH--Biblical teaching
JUSTIFICATION (Christianity theology)
CREATION--Biblical teaching
CREATIONISM
BIBLE & evolution
EVOLUTION (Biology)--Religious aspects--Christianity
BIBLICAL cosmology
INTELLIGENT design (Teleology)
MODERNIST--fundamentalist controversy
SR "Genesis 15" in [Select a Field (optional)]
JACOB (Biblical patriarch)
JOSEPH (Son of Jacob)