LibGuides: LIS1012 Introduction to Information Literacy: The Academic Library and Research: Databases

Contact Library Staff

Contact Library Staff

Trouble logging in? Questions about Library resources? Contact the University Librarian via email.

For questions related to undergraduate course content email asktheprof@globaluniversity.edu

Databases

Databases are sophisticated computer structures for retrieving high-quality information sources. Use a database to find in-depth information sources.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database covering virtually every area of academic study. Contains nearly 18,000 indexed and abstracted journals and magazines of which more than 15,930 are peer-reviewed. Includes more than 2,280 full-text journals and magazines of which 1,762 are peer-reviewed.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
Search articles, books, book chapters, reviews, and research reports. Content includes scholarship in the arts and humanities, economics and politics, and in mathematics and other sciences. Be sure to check the "Include only content I can access" box. Sort by "Newest to Oldest" to bring more contemporary articles to the top of the results list.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. Currently indexes over 3 million theses and dissertations.
Paperity This link opens in a new window
Easy access to more than 10 million papers and 29,000 multidisciplinary journals in multiple languages.
ProQuest Open Access Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The world's largest network of library content and services. You can search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for books, music CDs and videos; all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many new kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages. Get citations of library materials in five common styles, and export them to a variety of formats including EndNote, Reference Manager and RefWorks. Note: To search for theses and dissertations, limit the "content type" to: thesis/dissertations.

Bible / Theology

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Theological Association, this database indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in all fields of religion. It includes more than 266,000 full-text articles and book reviews.
Atla: Research in Ministry This link opens in a new window
A thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology, and religion.
Calvinism Resources Database This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic information for articles, essays, and lectures produced from the 16th century to the present which deal with John Calvin and 16th century Calvinism.

Suggested Search Terms

Using Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to search may yield the most relevant results. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list in Advanced Search. You can also search by keyword in the "All Text" or "Optional" fields.

LCSH	Keyword
BIBLE--Evidences, authority, etc.	authority of Bible
BIBLE--Inspiration	inspiration of Bible
BIBLE--Evidences, authority, etc.--History of doctrines	evidences of Bible
	biblical inerrancy
	inerrancy of Bible