Global University Library Administrative and Service Policies

1. Service Policies

1.1 Circulation
1.2 Interlibrary Loan

2. Administrative Policies

2.1 Policy on the Use of Electronic Resources
 2.1.1 License Agreements
2.2 Privacy and Confidentiality Policy
2.3 Food and Beverage Policy
2.4 Gifts and Collection Donation Policy
2.4.1 Gifts of Donated Materials
2.4.2 Tax Issues
2.4.3 Reserved Rights
2.4.4 How to Make a Donation

1. Service Policies

1.1 Circulation

Who can borrow?

• Currently enrolled students from all GU schools living in the Springfield area
• Resident faculty
• Resident staff
• Alumni living in the Springfield area
• Students from Evangel University

*The general public is welcome to use library materials IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.

How many books (resources) may I borrow at one time?

• There is no limit to the number of resources you may borrow.

For how long may a book (resource) be borrowed?

• You may borrow for a period of 1 month with an option to renew for another month if the resource has not been recalled by another user.

Are fines charged for overdue materials?

• No. We do not charge overdue fines. We just simply request that you return materials in a timely manner.

How many times may I renew?

• You may renew up to 2 times (for a total of 3 months) unless the resource has been recalled by another user. 

How long can I be guaranteed a recalled resource?

• If another user has recalled the resource, it is due at the end of the initial borrowing period.
• If it is recalled during a renewal period, it is due upon demand.

Will I be charged for damaged, lost, or non-returned materials?

• Yes. Users will be expected to reimburse the Library the replacement cost for damaged, lost, or non-returned materials

1.2 InterLibrary Loan

Can I borrow books and journal articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)?

• The Global University Library has a cooperative borrowing agreement with the other colleges and universities and can borrow circulating (print books) from these libraries on behalf of in-house faculty and staff only
• Photocopies of full-text journal articles not found in the GU library databases can possibly be obtained for remote students as well as in-house faculty and staff.
• When possible, every attempt will be made to secure these resources through an ILL program from other library organizations.

2. Administrative Policies

2.1 Policy on the Use of Electronic Resources

The Global University Library endeavors to provide access to electronic resources that support the research and educational needs of current Global University students, faculty, and staff. United States Copyright Law and contractual license agreements govern the access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources that the Global University Library makes available to its authorized users.

Reproductions (electronic or print) made by users of the Global University Library's electronic resources are governed by the Fair Use Section of the U.S. Copyright Law, except when the resources are covered by license agreements. Reproductions made through printing or downloading are usually considered to be fair use if:

• The use of the reproduced material is academic in nature, and for nonprofit, educational purposes.
• The purpose of making the reproductions is to make the materials available for study at the user's convenience.
• The reproduction is for a single copy, as opposed to multiple copies.
• The reproduction is reasonable in length in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole.

2.1.1 License Agreements

The use of electronic resources provided by the Global University Library is governed by license agreements negotiated between the Library and publishers or other third parties. Frequently these legally binding agreements impose greater restrictions on use than copyright law, and permit current student, faculty, and staff to access these resources for non-commercial, educational, scholarly, and research purposes. They generally prohibit large-scale downloading of articles or other information, sharing of articles or other information with individuals at other institutions, and using articles or information for commercial purposes. Users should be aware that publishers may monitor the use of electronic resources to ensure that the terms of the license agreement are enforced.

Please be aware :

• Sharing an access password with unauthorized users, including family, friends, or co- workers, may result in suspension or revocation of library privileges
• Downloading entire issues of electronic journals, or attempting to create large databases from bibliographic or other data files, is prohibited by Fair Use as well as by publisher license agreements. Systematic downloading of content, either manually or with specialized software, is detectable by publishers and traceable to specific computer addresses. Misuse of these resources can result in the termination of the license agreement and the loss of the resource by the entire Global University community.
• Engaging in actions intended to circumvent or defeat access control mechanisms of the Library or information provider may result in revocation of Library privileges and other disciplinary actions, including possible criminal prosecution.
• Sharing proprietary client software connected to information resources is also prohibited under the terms of academic licenses

The Global University Library expects users of electronic resources to be aware of and act in compliance with all relevant federal and state laws, and University policies. Access to and use of these resources is a privilege and must be treated as such by all users to protect the rights of the Global University community. Questions about the appropriate use of licensed information resources may be directed to the Director of Library Services.

2.2 Privacy and Confidentiality Policy

The Global University Library is committed to the principles of both Intellectual and Academic Freedom. These principles underscore the Library’s fundamental responsibility to protect our users' privacy and confidentiality.

The right to privacy is the right to inquiry without having the subject of one's interest examined or scrutinized. Confidentiality exists when a library is in possession of personally identifiable information about users and keeps that information private on their behalf.

When library users recognize or fear that their privacy or confidentiality is compromised, true freedom of inquiry no longer exists. Library staff must vigilantly guard their patrons' privacy and freedom of inquiry.

The Global University Library is committed to protecting each library user's privacy and confidentiality. In compliance with federal and state laws and professional standards, the Library will not reveal the identities of individual users or reveal what information sources or services they consult.

2.3 Food and Beverage Policy

The Global University Library recognizes that the care of library materials is essential to their long term preservation. The Library welcomes students, faculty, and staff to bring food and drinks into the library. However, in order to maintain a pest-free environment and damage-free furnishings, the Library requests:

• All drinks to be in closed, spill-proof containers
• All containers be discarded after consumption
• All food residue be cleaned from surfaces

Please help us achieve the goals of cleanliness and preservation by observing this policy.

2.4 Gifts and Collection Donation Policy

Contributions of materials and/or funds enable us to enhance our collections, providing both excellent educational supports to Global University students and high quality research resources for our faculty. We welcome gifts of donated materials and/or financial contributions. Gifts of both kinds are needed to support our library programs. Your gifts will help us strengthen and augment our resource collections to support the research needs of students and faculty.

2.4.1 Gifts of Donated Materials

Gifts of donated materials are a major factor in increasing the depth and breadth of our collections. Donated items must generally meet the same selection criteria as purchased materials. Acceptance of entire collections/libraries is contingent on evaluation by the Director of Library Services and/or a selection committee. If the gift is an entire collection, it is preferred that the donor provide a descriptive list of items for review before bringing or shipping the materials to the library. Small and individual gifts may be accepted informally. In instances local to the Springfield area, arrangements may be made for an on-site visit to review materials or to pick them up.

The Library will acknowledge in writing all gifts accepted unless the donor declines such notification. Books and other resources will be cataloged and listed in the Library’s online catalog with a notation of the donor’s name, unless anonymity is requested. A bookplate bearing the name of the donor or a person being honored by the gift may be affixed to books if requested by the donor. All donors of materials valued at over $500 must sign a Deed of Gift Form transferring ownership of the materials to the Global University Library.

2.4.2 Tax Issues

While gifts to the Global University library are tax deductible, IRS regulations prohibit the Library as an interested party from making appraisals of gifts for tax purposes. In general, the IRS does not require an appraisal of gifts valued at under $5,000. It is customary for donors to pay the cost of the appraisal of valuable items since they derive the tax benefit. A donor considering donating valuable items should consult an attorney or accountant for expert advice. The Library may assist donors in identifying qualified appraisers or researching the value of materials through standard sources.

2.4.3 Reserved Rights

The Library does not accept gifts with restrictions except those negotiated between the Directorpand the donor before acceptance.

The Library reserves the right to determine the appropriate degree of cataloging or processing of materials and the final physical location of materials added to the collections and, except in the case of very large gifts of exceptional value, does not maintain separate named collections.

Photocopies of copyrighted materials are generally not accepted.

The Library reserves the right to dispose of donated materials not added to the collections by selling them (with the funds to support future acquisitions), by gift or exchange with other institutions, or by other means. Donors may request at the time of donation that materials not added to the collection be returned to them.

Materials in poor physical condition will be evaluated to determine their scholarly or historic value before acceptance. Donors of such materials may be asked to make a financial contribution to help offset the costs of any professional preservation treatment needed.

2.4.4 How to Make a Donation

Persons who wish to contribute materials or make financial contributions in support of the growth, preservation and maintenance of the physical collections, or of the services and programs of the Global University Library, should contact: