Options for Citation Management

What is a citation? A citation....

  • describes a book, journal article, website, or other published item
  • gives credit to the originator of an idea, thus preventing plagiarism
  • enables the reader to retrieve the item you refer to
  • includes the author, title, source (publisher and place of publication or URL), and date

A citation manager is a tool which helps you to store, organize and output your citations in the format you prefer.

Options for Citation Management

Using the right tool for the job is important. That's why we've made it easy for you to find those tools. Here you'll find software applications (both free and fee-based) that focus on making your research easier, faster, and perhaps more entertaining.

There are many Citation Management tools on the market today. Here is a list and summary of just a few. We will showcase several of the most popular cross platform products and list a couple of very good MAC products.

Which citation management tool is right for you? Here is a summary - see also the full comparison chart of most products from Wikipedia.

************************************************************************************************

RefWorks ($$) is one of the easiest citation management tools to use. RefWorks is web-based for easy access from anywhere as long as you have an Internet connection. Using RefWorks, you can easily add citations to create your RefWorks library and generate bibliographies from your RefWorks library.

*************************************************************************************************

BibMe is a free (MLA/APA/Chicago) online bibliography generator. Choose the source, fill out the form, and it will create a formatted citation.

*************************************************************************************************

 is also an easy-to-use open source (free) tool that is accessible via the web—it actually lives right in your browser! Using Zotero, it is especially easy to capture and save citations found on webpages, and to add notes and other information to saved citations for efficient and creative organization. "Zotero is an easy-to-use yet powerful research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources (citations, full texts, web pages, images, and other objects), and lets you share the results of your research in a variety of ways. An extension to the popular open-source web browser Firefox, Zotero includes the best parts of older reference manager software (like EndNote) - the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references - and the best parts of modern software and web applications (like iTunes and del.icio.us), such as the ability to interact, tag, and search in advanced ways." --Zotero.org

Here's some of what Zotero can do for you and your research:

  • Automatic capture of citation information from web pages
  • Storage of PDFs, files, images, links, and whole web pages
  • Flexible note-taking with auto-save
  • Fast, as-you-type search through your materials

**************************************************************************************************

Citation Machine is another free online tool that generates MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian references.

**************************************************************************************************

 ($$$) is a bibliographic management software program that allows you to collect and organize citations and insert them into a word processing program in formatted bibliographic styles. It is a very sophisticated citation manager that offers the largest number of citation formats and options.The files reside on the computer which does not make it dependent on an internet connection; it does offer a basic but less functional Web based option; it is considered more difficult to learn and use. You can purchase the EndNote software for immediate download from Global University at a discounted price of $65.00. Please specify Windows or Mac. Contact the Global University Business Office at 800-443-1083 or send your request to: 

Global University
EndNote Purchase
1211 S. Glenstone Avenue
Springfield, Missouri 65804
USA 

Email Customer Service

Phone: 417-862-9533 ext. 2439

Or you may purchase the software at regular price directly from Thomson Reuters.

Getting Started with EndNote

Please download EndNote's Getting Started Guide (Windows) (Mac) (Also available on your EndNote CD under "extras"). This guide will provide instructions on how to set your preferences for the program and how to use EndNote with your word processor.

Training Options

Thomson Reuters offers both interactive online tutorials in basics and and live Webinar classes. The online tutorials are always available. To participate in a Webinar class you must submit a request form available on EndNote' straining site.

EndNote Citation Style for Global University

Download the Global University citation output style to your EndNote software program.

****************************************************************************************************

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Automatically generate bibliographies, collaborate easily with other researchers online, easily import papers from other research software, find relevant papers based on what you’re reading, access your papers from anywhere online, read papers on the go, with their new iPhone app, etc..

****************************************************************************************************

Sente 6 (MAC) $$ is the next-generation academic reference manager. Sente helps you find, organize, review and cite the academic literature in your field, and it does it in ways that you have probably not thought possible before. Sente also helps you build and maintain your library of PDF files for these references, because having ready access to the full text of important articles can be critical. Sente also excels at properly formatting bibliographies in your papers, but you probably already knew that.

****************************************************************************************************

Papers2  (MAC) $$ You find, download, archive, and organize all your articles within a single application. But that is just the start, using spotlight you instantly find back the paper you are looking for. Read it fullscreen, add your notes, send a copy to a colleague. These are just a few of the many features that after using them yourself you will never want to give up again.

****************************************************************************************************

Citelighter is an innovative academic research platform that allows students and researchers to save, organize, and automatically cite online or offline information throughout the duration of the writing process, and store content privately or aggregate it by topic.