LibGuides: MIS4102/3 Cross-Cultural Counseling: eBooks

eBooks

Basic Types of Pastoral Care and Counseling : Resources for the Ministry of Healing and Growth, Third Edition. / by Howard John Clinebell and Bridget Clare McKeever. "This third edition is enlarged and revised with updated resources, methods, exercises, and illustrations from actual counseling sessions. This book will help readers be sensitive to cultural diversity, ethical issues, and power dynamics as they practice holistic, growth-oriented pastoral care and counseling in the parish."
Christian Counseling Ethics : A Handbook for Psychologists, Therapists and Pastors. / edited by Randolph K. Sanders. Assembles a team of scholar-practitioners to forge a comprehensive ethical approach to Christian counseling. Christian psychotherapists, pastors, and others in the counseling profession will find here a ready resource for a whole array of contemporary clinical scenarios.
Concise Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling. / by Glenn H. Asquith. "This book provides classic and key articles that explain current theories, trends, and practices in the field of Pastoral Care and Counseling. Contents include: Definitions; History and Biography; Issues of Power and Difference; Interfaith Issues and Methods; Clinical Method; and Pastoral Theological Method."
Counseling and Christianity : Five Approaches. / by Stephen P. Greggo and Timothy A. Sisemore. (Christian Association for Psychological Studies Books.) "What does authentic Christian counseling look like in practice? This volume explores how five major perspectives on the interface of Christianity and psychology would each actually be applied in a clinical setting. Respected experts associated with each of the perspectives depict how to assess, conceptualize, counsel and offer aftercare to Jake, a hypothetical client with a variety of complex issues. In each case the contributors seek to explain how theory can translate into real-life counseling scenarios."
Developing Spiritual Competencies in Counseling: A Guide for Supervisors. / by Christopher E. Hall, et al. "The recently established competencies for addressing spiritual and religious issues in counseling (Association of Spiritual, Ethical, and Religious Values in Counseling, ) provide guidelines for counselors to implement in conjunction with evidence-based counseling practices. These spiritual competencies complement the ethics code ..."
Disability, Society, and Theology : Voices From Africa / edited by Samuel Kabue Resource materials to enrich the disability study process in the context of the Africa region. The book is in six parts and includes contributions from scholars across the continent. The parts are: Disability Theology: Issue to Debate; The Able Disabled and the Disabled Church: The Church's Response to Disability; Disability and Society; Disability Theology: Some Interfaces; Disability and Caregiving; and Disability in the African Experience.
Drinking From the Same Well : Cross-cultural Concerns in Pastoral Care and Counseling. / by " It traverses the broad terrain of cultural analysis and also explores in depth a number of discrete cross-cultural issues in pastoral counseling, related to communication, conflict, empathy, family dynamics, suffering, and healing. "
Evidence-Based Practices for Christian Counseling and Psychotherapy. / by James D. Aten. (Christian Association for Psychological Studies Books.) "Are Christian treatments as effective as secular treatments? What is the evidence to support its success? Christians engaged in the fields of psychology, psychotherapy and counseling are living in a unique moment. Over the last couple decades, these fields have grown more and more open to religious belief and religion-accommodative therapies. At the same time, Christian counselors and psychotherapists encounter pressure (for example, from insurance companies) to demonstrate that their accommodative therapies are as beneficial as secular therapies."
Flannery O'Connor : Writing a Theology of Disabled Humanity / by Timothy J. Basselin By combining disability studies, literary critique, and theological reflection, Basselin discovers a new vision for approaching the disabled, the grotesque, and the other in society. Flannery O'Connor reignites O'Connor's own critiques of the modern affinity for perfection, self-sufficiency, and a clear separation between “good” and “bad.”
Giving Counsel : A Minister's Guidebook. / by Donald Capps. "Renowned pastoral care expert Donald Capps equips readers with basic knowledge and skills and helps them to create a framework to ensure that all conversations where counsel is given will be valuable and not harmful to the person involved. Using a'problem-resolving'approach, Capps leads readers through:-- How to Create a Listening Environment-- How to Construct a Conversation-- How to Think Systemically-- How to Interpret Stories-- How to Manage Boundaries Giving Counsel is the perfect resource for seminary students and ministers of all faiths..."
Hope-Focused Marriage Counseling : A Guide to Brief Therapy. / by Everett L. Washington. " Worthington shows how to be strategic in each counseling situation by including teaching, training, exercises, forgiveness, modeling and motivation. At the heart of the book are dozens of interventions and exercises, including drawing on central values, promoting confession and forgiveness strengthening communication aiding conflict resolution changing patterns of thinking, developing intimacy cementing commitment."
I Love Growing Older, but I'll Never Grow Old / by J. Ellsworth Kalas This book is about learning how to “make peace with where you are right now.” It's about learning from the past and then moving past it. It's about growing—personally, spiritually, and in our relationships with God and with others. If we think properly about growing older we'll never have to grow old. A discussion guide is included.
Justice in the City / by Aryeh Cohen The privilege of citizenship is the assumption of the obligations of the city towards Others who are not always in view—workers, the poor, the homeless. These Others form a constitutive part of the city. The second part of the book is a close analysis of homelessness, labor and restorative justice from within the theory that was developed.
Pastoral Counseling Handbook : A Guide to Helping the Hurting. / by Ruth Hetzendorfer,. "The Pastoral Counseling Handbook offers the much needed message of hope for the hurting and for those who desire to help them. Based on the healing work of Christ, author Ruth Hetzendorfer uses her personal experience of years of counseling to provide the steps and ideas to help you gain understanding and wisdom, and more effectively counsel others.."
Psychology & Christianity: Five Views; With Contributions by Gary R. Collins ... [et Al.]/ edited by Gary R. Collins, Eric L. Johnson, and Stanton L. Jones. Five authors present their views on psychology and Christianity.
Role of American Christian and Japanese Buddhist Clergy in Suicide Prevention : A Comparison of Different Religious and Cultural Approaches to Counseling. / by Tatsushi Hirono. " The hypotheses are: (A) Christian clergy think that suicide is an unacceptable “sin;” (B) Buddhist clergy are more accepting of suicide than Christian clergy; and (C) There are role differences related to suicide prevention in the Japanese and American religious communities; and (D) American and Japanese religious leaders have a different view of their obligations related to suicide prevention. "
Sin and Grace in Christian Counseling : An Integrative Paradigm. / by Mark A. McMinn. (Christian Association for Psychological Studies Books.) " Teacher and counselor Mark McMinn believes that Christian counseling, then, must also take account of both human sin and God's grace. For both sin and grace are distorted whenever one is emphasized without the other. McMinn, noting his own tendencies and the temptation to stereotype different Christian approaches to counseling along this theological divide, ..."
Spiritual Competency in Psychotherapy. / by Phillip Brownell "... the current requirement for competence with diverse cultural concerns in counseling and psychotherapy may include those of a religious nature. Using a nonsectarian approach that can complement a wide range of psychotherapeutic orientations, this practical guide helps therapists and counselors gain competence in working with clients who are dealing with spiritual issues in their lives."
Theology for Better Counseling : Trinitarian Reflections for Healing and Formation. / by Virginia Todd Holeman. (Christian Association for Psychological Studies Books.) "In this volume Holeman guides counseling students, pastoral counselors and licensed mental health professionals into becoming as well-formed theologically as they are trained clinically."
Who's Got Time? : Spirituality for a Busy Generation / by Amy Fetterman and Teri Peterson Suggests new ways of incorporating spiritual practices into the busy lives of Generations X, Y, and beyond. Whether you're a student or working several jobs just to stay afloat, single or with a family, or just seeking something else you can't quite put your finger on, the authors help you find'the holy in the mundane.'Contemporary, hip, conversational, and practical, Who's Got Time? helps you find time to feed your soul.

Search for eBooks

Additional Open Access Books:

Christian Classics Ethereal Library This link opens in a new window Provides free electronic copies of Christian scripture and literature texts. Has the Ante-Nicene, Nicene, and Post-Nicene Church Fathers.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window A partnership of major research institutions and libraries to preserve the cultural record.

JSTOR Open Access eBooks JSTOR offers a growing list of Open Access ebooks from respected presses, such as University of California Press and University of Michigan Press.

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window Over 60,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Available in Français, Deutsch, Português.
Theological Commons This link opens in a new window A digital library of over 130,000 resources on theology and religion from Princeton Theological Seminary. It consists mainly of public domain books and also includes periodicals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscript collections, and other formats.

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them. Try a Boolean search with the "LCSH [AND] counseling".

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
GENERATION X	Gen-Xers
GENERATION Y	Millenials
OLDER people	older adults
PARENTS of children with disabilities	parents of disabled children
SUBSTANCE abuse	persons with substance abuse issues
CHURCH & substance abuse
STREET children	homelessness
HOMELESS persons	street people
DEAF	deaf community
THIRD culture children	third-culture kids
WOMEN
DISABLED veterans	wounded veterans