LibGuides: MTH1103 Business Mathematics: Databases / Search Engines

Selected Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database covering virtually every area of academic study. Contains nearly 18,000 indexed and abstracted journals and magazines of which more than 15,930 are peer-reviewed. Includes more than 2,280 full-text journals and magazines of which 1,762 are peer-reviewed.
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window One of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. Operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Biznar: Deep Web Business Research "Progress. What a powerful idea. It is what has driven humanity for thousands of years. There is always a better way to do things." This search engine locates articles about how people can interact better with others in the area of human relations.
CORE: Aggregating the world’s open access research papers. Login with email and create a password before using. "We offer seamless access to millions of open access research papers, enrich the collected data for text-mining and provide unique services to the research community. "
Doing Business. (World Bank) "The largest free online collection of business laws and regulations. It is linked to official government sources wherever possible."
Nation Master.com "Compare Countries on Just about Anything!" "NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources." It does include Religion.

OAIster This link opens in a new window A collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.
ProQuest Open Access Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
RefSeek This link opens in a new window Searches more than one billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.

WolframAlpha: computational knowledge engine This offers help in 30 major fields including mathematics. Click Mathematics to see "A few examples of what you can ask Wolfram|Alpha." There is an extended keyboard tab under the search bar.
World Wide Science: The Global Science Gateway - available in 10 languages "WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world."

A-Z Database List

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
RETIREES
RETIREMENT income--Planning
RETIREMENT planning
RETIREMENT benefits
RETIREMENT education
RETIREMENT age
RETIREMENT communities--Activity programs
RETIREMENT, Places of
RETIREMENT--Psychological aspects
RETIREMENT--Economic aspects
RETIREMENT in foreign countries
PHASED retirement
DELAYED retirement
POST-retirement employment
UNIVERSITY town retirement
SENIOR housing
LEISURE
HUMAN life cycle
SAVING & investment
INVESTMENT income
LIFE annuities
FIXED annuities
PRIVATE annuity trusts
CHARITABLE remainder annuity trusts
401(K) plans
MUTUAL funds
INDIVIDUAL retirement accounts--Investments
SOCIAL security
REVERSE mortgage loans
DEBT retirement
TAX planning
RETIREMENT--[your country] ex.: RETIREMENT--South Africa