LibGuides: HIS2212/3 World Church History: From the Early Church to 1500: Databases

Selected Databases

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Produced by the American Theological Association, this database indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in all fields of religion. It includes more than 266,000 full-text articles and book reviews.
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
One of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. Operated by Bielefeld University Library.
BiblicalStudies.org.uk
Makes high quality theological material available by digitising and uploading in co-operation with authors and publishers, rare and out-of-print theology books and articles. Over 18,000 articles are now available for free download here or via the subject menus on the left hand side of the page. Providing detailed bibliographies for Seminary level students and ministers. Providing a single cross-linked resource made up of five websites collectively known as "Theology on the Web".
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Provides free electronic copies of Christian scripture and literature texts. Has the Ante-Nicene, Nicene, and Post-Nicene Church Fathers.
CREDO General Reference eBook Collection
Covers every major subject from over 70 of the world’s best publishers.
Directory of Open Access Repositories
Lets you search the contents of the repositories listed in OpenDOAR for freely available academic research information. This quality assured approach minimises (but does not eliminate) spurious or junk results, and leads more directly to useful and relevant information. Full texts are available for most results.
Bases de Dato en Español (EBSCO)
Una base de datos multidisciplinaria que cubre prácticamente todas las áreas de estudio académico. Contiene texto completo de más de 2.100 revistas, incluidos más de 1.550 títulos revisados por colegas. Cambie el idioma de la interfaz a español eligiendo la lista desplegable "Languages" en la barra de herramientas negra.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of major research institutions and libraries to preserve the cultural record.
OAIster
A collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.
Theological Journals Search
This search engine targets over 1,000 Web sites/pages to retrieve full-text articles from over 350 open access journals related to religious studies, scripture studies, systematic theology, practical theology, and cognate disciplines. Among the journals searched are many of those listed in major religion Internet directories and e-journal sites. While most articles are in English, some are in other languages, so non-English searches are appropriate. This search engine is intended to serve as a supplement rather than a replacement for the periodical indexes and full-text databases that academic libraries typically make accessible to their constituents.

World Digital Library Significant primary materials, in multilingual format, from countries and cultures around the world.

World Digital Library
Significant primary materials, in a multilingual format, from countries and cultures around the world. Includes general works, philosophy & psychology, religion, social sciences, language, science, technology, arts & recreation, literature, history & geography.

A-Z Database List

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
ORTHODOX Christianity	orthodoxy
CHRISTIAN heresies--History--Middle Ages, ca. 600-1500	Roman Catholic church
CHRISTIAN heretics	theological movements
GNOSTICISM	"early church" growth
MARCIONISM
MANICHAEISM
MONTANISM
MONARCHIANISM
DONATISTS
IGNATIUS, Saint, Bp of Antioch
POLYCARP, Saint, Bp of Smyrna
JUSTIN, Martyr, Saint
ARISTIDES, 2d cent
APOLOGISTS (Christians)
ATHENAGORAS, 2d cent
TATIAN, ca 120-173
IRENAEUS, Saint, Bp of Lyons
TERTULLIAN, ca 160-ca230
CYPRIAN, Saint, Bp of Carthage
ORIGEN
EUSEBIUS, Bp of Caesarea
AMBROSE, Saint, Bp of Milan
JOHN Chrysostom, Saint, d 407
THEODORE, Bp of Mopsuestia, ca 350-428 or 9
JEROME, Saint, d 419 or 20
AUGUSTINE, Saint, Bp of Hippo
CHURCH history--Primitive & early church, ca. 30-600
CHURCH history--Middle Ages, 600-1500
THEOLOGY--History--Early church, ca. 30-600
THEOLOGY--History--Middle Ages, 600-1500
PERSECUTION of Christians--History--Early church, ca. 30-600
PERSECUTION--History--Middle Ages, 600-1500
MARTYRDOM--Christianity
CHRISTIAN martyrs
ROME--History--BC 30-AD 284 (Empire)
ROMAN roads
ANCIENT philosophy
PHILOSOPHY and Christianity--Greek philosophy
POLYTHEISM
MONOTHEISM
JEWISH messianic movements
JEWISH ethics
JEWISH philosophy--Early works to 1800
JESUS Christ--Historicity
MONASTICISM & religious orders--History--Middle Ages, 600-1500
MONASTIC life
CRUSADES--First, 1096-1099
CISTERCIAN monasteries
CISTERCIAN convents
FRIARS
FRANCISCANS
MONKS
WALDENSES
ALBIGENSES
ALBIGENSIAN Crusade, 1209-1229
ORTHODOX (Orthodox Eastern Church)
HOLY Spirit--Procession [used for filioque]
NICENE Creed
ICONOCLASM
CELIBACY--Christianity
SCHOLASTICISM (Theology)
REALISM
ABELARD, Peter, 1079-1142
THOMAS, Aquinas, Saint, 1225c-1274
NOMINALISM
WILLIAM of Ockham, ca 1285-ca1349
BACON, Roger, 1214c-1294
FATHERS of the church
CONVENTS
LITURGIES, Early Christian
CHRISTIANITY & other religions--Islam