LibGuides: HIS3103 American Church History: Databases

Selected Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database covering virtually every area of academic study. Contains nearly 18,000 indexed and abstracted journals and magazines of which more than 15,930 are peer-reviewed. Includes more than 2,280 full-text journals and magazines of which 1,762 are peer-reviewed.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Theological Association, this database indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in all fields of religion. It includes more than 266,000 full-text articles and book reviews.
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window One of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. Operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library This link opens in a new window Provides free electronic copies of Christian scripture and literature texts. Has the Ante-Nicene, Nicene, and Post-Nicene Church Fathers.

CORE: Aggregating the world’s open access research papers. Login with email and create a password before using. "We offer seamless access to millions of open access research papers, enrich the collected data for text-mining and provide unique services to the research community. "

Bases de Dato en Español (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Una base de datos multidisciplinaria que cubre prácticamente todas las áreas de estudio académico. Contiene texto completo de más de 2.100 revistas, incluidos más de 1.550 títulos revisados por colegas.
Theological Commons This link opens in a new window A digital library of over 130,000 resources on theology and religion from Princeton Theological Seminary. It consists mainly of public domain books and also includes periodicals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscript collections, and other formats.

A-Z Database List

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
INTERFAITH dialogue	interfaith relations
INTERFAITH worship
CHRISTIANITY and other religions
RELIGIOUS pluralism [AND] United States
EVANGELICAL revival [AND] United States
REVIVALS [AND] United States
GREAT Awakening [AND] United States
SECULARISM [AND] United States
CHRISTIANITY--History [AND] United States
UNITED States [AND] Church history
UNITED States--Religious life & customs
ASSEMBLIES of God

SUBSTITUTE YOUR PARTICULAR FAITH COMMUNITY AS SHOWN IN THE EXAMPLES BELOW:

PENTECOSTALS [AND] United States
METHODISTS [AND] United States
PRESBYTERIANS [AND] United States
CHURCH of the Brethren [AND] United States