LibGuides: HIS3103 American Church History: General Reference

Reference Works

A reference work is a book or serial publication that contains useful facts and information such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauruses, almanacs, and catalogs. Generally, reference works are consulted for particular pieces of information, rather than read from beginning to end. Most reference works are compiled by a team of contributors whose work is coordinated by one or more editors rather than by an individual author. Updated editions are usually published as needed, in some cases annually (e.g., almanacs, who's who). NOTE: Dictionary definitions and very short encyclopedia entries can be used as a beginning point in your research, however, do not count these sources as one of the "minimum of three" academic resources. Interacting with more in-depth academic material will help raise your score.

Encyclopedia of American Studies Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States / Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
more...less...
This masterful five-volume reference work includes biographies of major figures in the Christian church in the United States, influential religious documents and Supreme Court decisions, and information on theology and theologians, denominations, faith-based organizations, immigration, art—from decorative arts and film to music and literature—evangelism and crusades, the significant role of women, racial issues, civil religion, and more.The first volume opens with introductory essays that provide snapshots of Christianity in the U.S. from pre-colonial times to the present, as well as a statistical profile and a timeline of key dates and events. Entries are organized from A to Z. The final volume closes with essays exploring impressions of Christianity in the United States from other faiths and other parts of the world, as well as a select yet comprehensive bibliography. Appendices help readers locate entries by thematic section and author, and a comprehensive index further aids navigation.
History of Christianity Reading Room (Tyndale Seminary) Provides links to (mostly) books including dictionaries, encyclopedias, readers, church history, surveys, resources for Tyndale's History of Christianity, medieval and early church history, church history from other countries.
Religious Diversity (Pluralism) Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Search Reference Books

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
INTERFAITH dialogue	interfaith relations
INTERFAITH worship
CHRISTIANITY and other religions
RELIGIOUS pluralism [AND] United States
EVANGELICAL revival [AND] United States
REVIVALS [AND] United States
GREAT Awakening [AND] United States
SECULARISM [AND] United States
CHRISTIANITY--History [AND] United States
UNITED States [AND] Church history
UNITED States--Religious life & customs
ASSEMBLIES of God

SUBSTITUTE YOUR PARTICULAR FAITH COMMUNITY AS SHOWN IN THE EXAMPLES BELOW:

PENTECOSTALS [AND] United States
METHODISTS [AND] United States
PRESBYTERIANS [AND] United States
CHURCH of the Brethren [AND] United States

Additional General Reference Resources

Perry–Castañeda Library Map Collection
Bartleby Great Books Online Literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with access to books and information.

Bible Commentary Quick Search This link opens in a new window Enter Scripture reference.

BibleGateway A tool for reading and researching scripture online -- all in the language or translation of your choice! It provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in multiple Bible translations.
Diccionario Español
Dictionary / Thesaurus

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica is the oldest English-language general encyclopedia. Encyclopedia Britannica Online is the website of Encyclopedia Britannica, with more than 120,000 articles that are updated regularly. It has daily features, updates and links to news reports from The New York Times and the BBC.

Holman Christian Study Bible