LibGuides: EDU3102/3 Principles of Teaching: Books

Google Limited Preview Books

With permission of publishers, Google Books provides a limited preview of some print books. You can search within the text of the book and access certain pages (that are part of the preview). Although you are not able to read the entire book, you may be able to find valuable information on your topic.

An introduction to teaching: psychological perspectives / by Charles Desforges Aims to inform teachers' decision making, planning, reflection and evaluation from a psychological perspective.
Christian Education Teaching Methods - from Modern to Postmodern: Teaching the Faith to Post-Moderns / by Carlos C. Roberts This offers ways to teach Christian Education to the present peoples.
Classroom Observation: A guide to the effective observation of teaching and learning / by Matt O'Leary. "Offering practical guidance and detailed insight on an aspect of training that is a source of anxiety for many teachers, this thought-provoking book offers a critical analysis of the place, role and nature of lesson observation ..." Website information.
Courage to Teach: Exploring the Inner Landscape of a Teacher's Life / by Parker Palmer. "This book can change your life if you are a teacher." —Religious Education "Through a series of vignettes, Palmer encourages reflection, and strives to bolster readers' initiative and confidence." Website information.
Creative Teaching Methods / by Marlene D. LeFever Marlene LeFever makes the principle of learning through creative participation come alive for Christian education. Creative methods are vividly and invitingly explored for their potential for deepening the spiritual life through new ways of hearing the Word of God and using heretofore untapped personal resources in responding to it. Unique in its assumption that in Christian education creativity is just as essential in work with youth and adults as it is in work with children.
Help! I'm a Sunday School Teacher!: 50 Ways to Make Sunday School Come Alive / by Ray Johnston . "This funny, yet extremely practical book offers up 50 creative thoughts, tips, and ideas for teaching Sunday school at any age level in any church."
Instrumentation of Bloom's and Krathwohl's Taxonomies for the Writing of Educational Objectives / by Newton S. Netfessel, et al. The authors use the framework of Bloom's and Krathwohl educational objectives to illustrate how educators may now write them for their classes.
Introducing Christian education: foundations for the twenty-first century / by Michael J. Anthony Provides an overview and understanding of the broad range of subjects included in C.E.--for college and seminary use.
Learning and Teaching in the Primary Classroom / by Maurice Galton. Helping those wanting to teach in the primary classroom put into practice what they have learned.
Motivating Students Who Don't Care: Successful Techniques for Educators / by Allen Mendler. "This book is a comprehensive and practical guide for reconnecting with discouraged students and reawakening their excitement and enthusiasm for learning." Website information.
Powerful Classroom Management Strategies: Motivating Students to Learn / by Paul R. Burden. "Learn to use effective motivation in the classroom and reap the results--increased student learning and decreased management problems for K-12 classrooms."
Principles and Methods of Teaching: A Manual for Normal Schools, Reading Circles, and Teachers of Elementary, Intermediate, and Higher Schools / by Charles Clinton Boyer. While this is an older book on the principles of teaching, it is still considered worthy of careful reading.
Quick and Lively Classroom Activities: Meaningful Ways to Keep Kids Engaged During Transition Time, Downtime, Or Anytime / by Linda Nason McElheme The 260 activities are grouped into 52 themes (one for each week of the year): My Special Talent, Celebrating Differences, Managing My Time, Setting Goals, Imagining My Future, Showing My Art and Soul, and more.
Savage Inequalities: Children in America's Schools / by Jonathan Kozol. "In Savage Inequalities, Kozol delivers a searing examination of the extremes of wealth and poverty and calls into question the reality of equal opportunity in our nation’s schools.
Teaching in Further Education: An Outline of Principles and Practice / by L. B. Curzon and Jonathan Tummons. "...this offers a systematic exposition of the elements of instruction common to most types of courses commonly available in colleges..."
Teaching Outside the Box: How to Grab Your Students By Their Brains / by LouAnne Johnson. Book from the Recommended Reading list.
Thriving in the Multicultural Classroom: Principles and Practices for Effective Teaching / by Mary Dilg How to teach and work with students of multiple ethnic backgrounds.
What Teachers Need to Know about Teaching Methods / by Peter S. Westwood Explains the different theories of teaching and learning, together with their underlying principles and methods.

Teaching like Jesus Christ

Jesus - A Master Teacher: Translating Jesus’ generic teaching strategies and Methods from the 1st to the 21st centuries / by Roy Pitcher Learning how to teach like Jesus Christ.
Jesus, the Master Teacher / by Herman Harrell Horne This introduces the reader to the pedagogy of Jesus Christ.
Rock Solid Teacher: Discover the Joy of Teaching Like Jesus / by Gregory C. Carlson Learning to follow the example of Jesus Christ as He lived and taught friends, those just merely curious, and even His enemies.
Teaching As Jesus Taught / by Roy Zuck. A noted authority writes about how Jesus Christ taught.

Research Methods

12 Brain/Mind Learning Principles in Action: Teach for the Development of Higher Order Thinking and Executive Function / by Renate Nummela Caine, Geoffrey Caine, Carol McClintic, Karl J. Klimek "Because the mind, the body and the brain are all instruments of human meaning making, educators are intrigues with research in the neurosciences from which to draw implications and applications for teaching and learning."
Empirical Research in Teaching and Learning: Contributions from Social Psychology / edited by Debra Mashek, Elizabeth Yost Hammer Research findings and applications.
Handbook of Complementary Methods in Education Research / edited by Judith L. Green, Judith L Green, Gregory Camilli, Patricia B. Elmore, and Patricia B Elmore An effort by a large group of writers to update AERA's previous title on the subject.
Introduction to Research Methods in Education / by Keith F Punch and Alis Oancea "In this book we have tried to unpack what we see as a tighter and more complex relationship between methodological choices, research practices, and the process of becoming and being and education researcher."

Handbooks

Handbook of Reading Research, 1996 ed. / edited by Rebecca Barr, P. David Pearson, Michael L. Kamil, and Peter B. Mosenthal. This handbook of periodically updated. Each chapter has a different subject and different authors. Especially note the chapter bibliographies to be used in additional research.
Handbook of Research on Science Education, Volume 2 / edited by Norman G. Lederman, Sandra K. Abell Each chapter includes research in another area and reported by other contributors.
Oxford Handbook of Reading edited by Alexander Pollatsek and Rebecca Treiman. Handbook with separate chapters about various aspects of reading. Note the contents of the chapter bibliographies when they are included.
Second Handbook of Research on Mathematics Teaching and Learning ..., Volume 1 / by Frank K. Lester. Each chapter covers another aspect of teaching mathematics and is submitted by other contributers.

Additional Handbooks may be located by using the Google Search: Handbook of Research [your subject].

Educational Leadership

Challenges of Educational Leadership / by Mike Bottery " Across many western countries there has been a renewed emphasis upon improved leadership capacity and capability in the drive towards higher educational performance and standards."
Critical Perspectives on Educational Leadership / edited by John Smyth "This presents a broad, critical perspective across a range of interrelated fields in education."
Educational Leadership: Culture and Diversity / by Clive Dimmock and Allan Walker. Cross-cultural analysis of educational leadership.
Leaders and Leadership in Education / by Helen Gunter A book written out of personal experience in the production of educational leaders.

LCSH	Keyword
TEACHING	course objectives
TEACHING--Methodology	Bloom's taxonomy
TEACHING methods	age-level appropriateness
TEACHING aids & devices	testing & measurement
CREATIVE teaching	learning domains
EFFECTIVE teaching	evaluation of learning
LEARNING
LEARNING goals
LESSON planning
CLASSROOM activities

EDU3102/3 Principles of Teaching

Google Limited Preview Books

Search Google Books

Search WorldCat

Search Terms/Keywords