Adam, C. 2006. Out of Islam: one Muslim's journey to faith in Christ. Lake Mary, Fla., Charisma House.
Ayoub, M. M. 2004. Islam : faith and history. Oxford, Oneworld.
Combining the personal with the scholarly, this innovative introduction gives the reader an insight into Islam and its rich history.
Challen, E. F. 2006. Love your Muslim neighbour : Understanding Islam in today's world. Leominster, Eng., Day One.
The Islamic faith is making significant inroads into diverse regions in the world today. Muslims are directing significant resources into propagating their faith, and, as a result, many people are converting to Islam. What should be the Christian response to this? What is the best way for believers in Christ to take the opportunity to share the gospel of God's grace to Muslim neighbours and colleagues at work? In this highlyresearched and very readable book, Edward Challen provides a wealth of practical pointers to readers, showing just what can be done!
Cooper, A. and E.A. Maxwell. 2003. Ishmael, My Brother: A Christian Introduction to Islam. Monarch Books.
A comprehensive presentation of the key facts, figures, and dynamics of this religion so frequently in the headlines and so often misrepresented-complete with exercises, diagrams, bibliography, and useful Web sites.
Darg, C. 2007. Miracles among Muslims : the Jesus visions. Pescara, Italy, Destiny Image Europe.
Christine Darg, a dreamer in the tradition of biblical Daniel and Peter, heard the voice of God tell her in a dream to go to an Arabian city where the Holy Spirit was moving in revival. What could she do but head there? Miracles Among Muslims chronicles her amazing encounters with dreams and visions in this current move of God, and shares some of the startling visions she herself has experienced In the Middle East and throughout the world.
Eltahir, E. G. 2003. Comparing the incomparable : religion, chanting, and healing in the Sudan, the case of zar and zikr. Madison, Wisc.:University of Wisconsin. Ph.D. Doctrinal Dissertation.
Fatoohi, L. 2008. The mystery of the crucifixion : the attempt to kill Jesus in the Qur'an, the New Testament, and historical sources. Birmingham, Eng. :, Luna Plena.
Numerous books and articles have been published about the crucifixion. Western studies have focused on the Christian narratives and historical sources, but most of them have completely ignored the Qur'an, which denies that Jesus was crucified. Muslim scholars have also studied the Qur'an's account but mostly in exegetical works that focused on the Qur'an's version of the story, with some comparative references to the Gospel narratives but almost no consideration of historical sources. This book takes a new approach by considering the crucifixion in the Qur'an, Christian writings, and early historical sources. It discusses the serious flaws in the Gospel accounts and the unreliability of the few non-scriptural sources. The book also challenges common modern alternative readings of the history of that event. One new contribution that this study makes to the literature of the crucifixion is its new interpretation of all related Qur'anic verses. It also contributes a coherence explanation of the development of the fictitious story of the crucifixion of Jesus. The theology of the cross that Paul developed is also examined. The book shows that the doctrine of the atonement conflicts with the Gospel teachings and is refuted in the Qur'an. Detailed, yet easy-to-read and highly enjoyable, this book is intended for both the general reader and the expert. This thought-provoking study is for anyone interested in the crucifixion in the Qur'an, New Testament, and historical sources. Those interested in comparative studies of the Qur'an and the Bible will find this book highly informative. No specialist knowledge is required for reading the book.
Fatoohi, L. 2009. The mystery of the messiah : the messiahship of Jesus in the Qur'an, New Testament, Old Testament, and other sources. Birmingham, Eng., Luna Plena.
The Messiah is the central figure of the largest religion in the world, as Christianity was formed around Jesus' messiahship. Judaism also gives the Messiah a special and high position, although it denies that Jesus was the Messiah, so the Jews continue to wait for the coming of their Messiah. The Qur'an confirms the Christian belief that Jesus was the Messiah, but it has fundamental differences with the Christian representation of the Messiah. Islam has even more differences with the Jewish concept of the Messiah. This book compares the concept of "Messiah" in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. It examines the portrayal of the Messiah in the Old Testament and other Jewish writings, the New Testament, and the Qur'an. It develops a complete picture of how this concept appeared, what it originally represented, and how it was changed over time by different believers. The study shows why and how the Messiah was developed in Judaism into a military king whose main role is to re-establish Israel and restore its glory. It also explains how Christianity turned this victorious Jewish warrior into a suffering spiritual king. The author's ultimate goal is to show that the Qur'anic Messiah is the historical one. Neither a victorious royal with a political agenda nor a defeated spiritual teacher who ended up on the cross, the Messiah was a prophet sent by God. This new critical reading of the history of the "Messiah" challenges deep-rooted prejudices and misunderstandings about this concept. This focused and detailed study is for anyone interested in the concept of "Messiah." Both the general reader and the expert would benefit from the wealth of information in this thought-provoking book.
Gardner, M. 2008. The Jinn from hyperspace and other scribblings--both serious and whimsical. Amherst, N.Y., Prometheus Books.
Suitable for longtime Gardner readers, this work offers a selection of stimulating intellectual wonders. It discusses two neglected works by G K Chesterton, one of which concerns an imaginary but now very topical war between Islam and Christianity. It also considers the fantasies of L Frank Baum that don't take place in "Oz".
Harris, R. W. 1995. Acts today : signs & wonders of the Holy Spirit. Springfield, MO, Gospel Pub. House.
Harvey, S. A. and D. G. Hunter 2008. The Oxford handbook of early Christian studies. Oxford; New York, Oxford University Press.
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies responds to and celebrates the explosion of research in this interdisciplinary field over recent decades. A one-volume reference work, it provides an introduction to the academic study of early Christianity (c. 100-600 AD) and examines the vast geographical area impacted by the early church, in Western and Eastern late antiquity. It is thematically arranged to encompass history, literature, thought, practices, and material culture. It contains authoritative and up-to-date surveys of current thinking and research in the various subfields of early Christian studies, written by leading figures in the discipline. The essays orient readers to a given topic, as well as to the trajectory of research developments over the past 30-50 years within the scholarship itself. Guidance for future research is also given. Each essay points the reader towards relevant forms of extant evidence (texts, documents, or examples of material culture), as well as to the appropriate research tools available for the area. This volume will be useful to advanced undergraduate and post-graduate students, as well as to specialists in any area who wish to consult a brief review of the "state of the question" in a particular area of early Christian studies, especially one different from their own.
Hunter, H. D. and C. M. Robeck, eds., Eds. 2006. The suffering body : responding to the persecution of Christians. Milton Keynes, U.K.; Waynesboro, Ga., Paternoster.
Suffering with Christ was not only the experience of the early church but is that of much of the church today. This volume presents up to date, global reflections on the different ways in which the church suffers: from class discrimination to government persecution; from interreligious conflict to tensions between different Christian groups. With a special focus on PentecostalCharismatic Christianity but also bringing Roman Catholic and Orthodox perspectives into the mix, this book provides both theological and practical insight.
Irwin, R. 2010. Visions of the Jinn : illustrators of the Arabian nights. Oxford, Oxford University Press.
In this richly-illustrated book, illustrations of various Western editions of The Arabian Nights from the eighteenth to the twentieth century are presented and analysed. Visions of the Jinn is simultaneously a closely-focused study of a special case in the history of book illustration, an account of the evolution of an important strand of visual fantasy and a presentation of a hitherto neglected area of Orientalism. Some of the artists - Dulac, Dore, Brangwyn - are famous. Many others, such as Coster or Letchford, are almost totally unknown. In the course of the book, the discussion also reveals much about the visual discovery of the Near East in modern times. This volume will make an important contribution both to the history of book illustration and, more generally, to the history of the book. His analyses of the individual illustrators, mainly English but also French and German can be regarded as a contribution to art history.
Lawson, T. 2009. The crucifixion and the Qur'an : a study in the history of Muslim thought. Oxford, Oneworld.
According to many, the Qur'an denies the crucifixion of Jesus, and with it, one of the most sacred beliefs of Christianity. However, it is only mentioned in one verse and its interpretation has been the subject of fierce debate among Muslims for centuries. This innovative work is the first book devoted to the issue, delving into largely ignored Arabic sources, which suggest that this interpretation of the verse may originate from the Christian Church.
Lebling, R. W. 2010. Legends of the fire spirits : Jinn and genies from Arabia to Zanzibar. Berkeley, CA, Counterpoint.
When Westerners think of a genie, the first image that comes to mind may be Barbara Eden in her pink harem pants or the illuminated blue buffoon from the animated Disney film "Aladdin." But to the people of the Arab and Islamic worlds, the picture is dramatically different. "Legends of the Fire Spirits" looks beyond Westernized caricatures to immerse the reader in the vibrant lore of the jinn--the wondrous, often troublesome, and sometimes terrifying spirit beings of ancient Arab and Islamic tradition. Robert Lebling delves into long-lost accounts, medieval histories, colonial records, anthropologist's reports, and traveler's tales to explore the origin and evolution of legends that continue to thrive in the Middle East and beyond. He cuts through centuries of Orientalists' cultural presumption to craft a study that stands apart from the overwhelming body of literature concerned with religion in the Middle East. A captivating synthesis of history and folklore, this is the most diverse collection of jinn lore ever assembled in one volume. From ancient scriptures to "The Arabian Nights" and beyond, and with a foreword by acclaimed filmmaker Tahir Shah, Lebling has constructed a comprehensive account that not only transcends geographical borders but also spans some four millennia.
Leirvik, O. 2010. Images of Jesus Christ in Islam. London; New York, Continuum.
Comprehensive and contemporary exploration of the role of Jesus in both Islam and Christianity and issues of dialogue in Christian-Muslim relations.
Lenning, L. G. 1980. Blessing in mosque and mission. Pasadena, Calif., William Carey Library.
Lodahl, M. E. 2010. Claiming Abraham : reading the Bible and the Qur'an side by side. Grand Rapids, Mich., Brazos Press.
Many of the Bible's characters and stories are also found in the Qur'an, but there are often differing details or new twists in the Qur'an's retelling of biblical narrative. In this compelling book, seasoned theologian Michael Lodahl explores these fascinating divergences to discover the theological difference they make.Writing from a Christian perspective that is respectful of the Islamic tradition, Lodahl offers an accessible introduction to Muslim theology and to the Qur'an's leading themes to help readers better understand Islam. Lodahl compares and contrasts how the Bible and the Qur'an depict and treat certain characters in common to both religions, including Noah, Abraham, Moses, and Jesus. He offers theological reflection on doctrines held in common by Christians and Muslims, such as creation, revelation, and the resurrection of the body. Lodahl also explores the Jewish tradition as an important source for understanding the Qur'an.
Malek, S. 2008. Islamic exodus : into the freedom of Christ. Victoria, BC, Trafford.
Islam today presents a challenge not only to westerners but to all peoples around the globe, including Muslims themselves! In fact, many Muslims would prefer to offer the wrold a picture of Islam that is quite different from the one painted by them and about them in recent years. Non-Muslims see in this religion and way of life a vivid and contrasting mosaic - politically, socially, and economically. The author says: "I feel for Muslims as persons: they are ion dismal slavery. On the human level, most of them are nice people. many of them a re kind and decent. But becuase all of them are under a cruel and ruthless taskmaster… Muslims are lost not because they are fundamentalists, fanatics, liberals or even just simply Muslims. No. They are lost because they are away from Christ, the only savior."
McCurry, D. M. 2001. Healing the broken family of Abraham : New life for Muslims. Colorado Springs, CO, Ministries to Muslims.
An essential resource for the Christian worker committed to sharing Christ's love with Muslims.
Musa, Aisha Y. 2008. Hadith as Scripture: Discussions on the Authority of Prophetic Traditions in Islam. Palgrave Macmillan.
This work explores the earliest extant discussions on the authority of the Hadith in Islam and compares them with contemporary debates. These lively and often polemical debates are mostly popular discussions in which Muslims from different backgrounds and cultures participate--making this topic relevant to Muslims in their daily lives, as well as a question of academic interest. This is the first study to take into account both the earliest and most recent discussions of the oral tradition of the prophet Muhammad. The book also includes the first Western language translation of al-Shafi'i'sKitab Jima' al-'Ilm, which articulates arguments that were critical in establishing the position of the Hadith in mainstream Islam.
Musk, B. and Monarch Publishing. 2004. The Unseen Face of Islam: Sharing the Gospel with Ordinary Muslims at Street Level. Kregel Publications.
The Rev. Dr Bill Musk has worked with Operation Mobilisation, Living Bibles International, Middle East Media, the Church Mission Society and hte Episcopal Chruch in Egypt. He is currently the minister of a multi-ethnic Anglican church in London. Dr. Musk is also author of The Unseen Face of Islam, Touching the Soul of Islam and Holy War.Catherine Fox is a novelist, historian, mother of two small boys, and a vicar's wife in the UK.
Parrinder, E. G. 2003. Jesus in the Qur'an. Oxford, Oneworld.
Written for both Christians and Muslims, for specialists as well as generaleaders, this book offers a study of Qur'anic teachings about the birth, life,ork, death and resurrection of Jesus. The author explores all 93 verses inhe Qur'an in which Jesus is mentioned, setting them in the context of theork as a whole and drawing parallels with the Christian gospels whereverossible.
Reddin, Opal, e. 1999. Power encounter : a pentecostal perspective. Springfield, Mo., Central Bible College Press.
Power Encounter: A Pentecostal Perspective: Demons in Believers? Territorial Spirits? Generational Curses? Binding and Loosing? Opal L. Reddin, Ed. Forward by Stanley M. Horton Contributing Authors: Harold Carpenter, Gerard Flokstra, Fred Haltom, Charles Harris, Bracy Hill, Elmer Kirsch, Jesse Moon, Doug Oss, Opal Reddin, and Morris Williams REVISED EDITION
Safa, R. F. 1996. Inside Islam : exposing and reaching the world of Islam; [a former radical Shiite Muslim speaks out]. Orlando, FL, Creation House.
A former radical Shiite Muslim unashamedly speaks out and exposes radical fundamental beliefs in his book "Inside Islam." Reza Safa, openly talks about the spirit of Islam from an insiderrs"s point of view. Safa is well-versed in the laws and history of Islam. Radical Muslims claim to believe that the Bible is untrue, eternal life is only attained by sacrifice in a holy war and that Christians are naiuml;ve and weak in their beliefs. He explains that they seem to have a lust for martyrdom and their lives are lived in fear of their god, Allah. "Fear is the darkroom in which Satan develops his negatives," says Rafa as he tells how Islam contradicts the facts and truths of the Bible. "Inside Islam" is a magnifying glass that lets you see deep into Muslim culture and society. About the Author: Reza F. Safa was born and raised a devout Muslim in the Middle East. His faith in Islam was unshakable--until he heard the gospel and gave his life to Jesus. Since that time, Safa has preached in more than forty countries around the world. In 1983, he founded the Harvesters World Outreach, an evangelistic ministry.
Woodberry, J. D., ed. 1991. Muslims & christians on the emmaus road : crucial issues in witness among muslims. Grand Rapids, Mich., Baker Books.
Zahniser, A. H. M. 2008. The mission and death of Jesus in Islam and Christianity. Maryknoll, N.Y., Orbis Books.
A comprehensive look into the way in which differing views of the mission and death of Jesus are the root of Muslim-Christian misunderstandings about one another and how careful studies of the Qur'an n may bridge that gap.