LibGuides: THE2012/3 The Bible and the Church: Databases

Selected Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Among the 2,100+multi-disciplinary full-text journals are over 100 religious publications. Many of these offer peer-reviewed articles.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) This link opens in a new window Allows you to interactively explore the highest quality data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, GIS maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other reports.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window This may be searched by author, title, or subject. If there is a Bible text which is being investigated, go to the top of the screen and click, Scriptures, then click the Book of the Bible, then click the chapter, then click the verse. Then pick the citations which are the most narrowly focused on that passage. Click "Languages" on the upper bar to change to another interface languages.
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window One of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. Operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bible Commentary Quick Search This link opens in a new window Enter Scripture reference.
BiblicalStudies.org.uk This link opens in a new window Makes high quality theological material available by digitising and uploading in co-operation with authors and publishers, rare and out-of-print theology books and articles. Over 18,000 articles are now available for free download here or via the subject menus on the left hand side of the page. Providing detailed bibliographies for Seminary level students and ministers. Providing a single cross-linked resource made up of five websites collectively known as "Theology on the Web".
Directory of Open Access Repositories This link opens in a new window Lets you search the contents of the repositories listed in OpenDOAR for freely available academic research information. This quality assured approach minimises (but does not eliminate) spurious or junk results, and leads more directly to useful and relevant information. Full texts are available for most results.
Bases de Dato en Español (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Una base de datos multidisciplinaria que cubre prácticamente todas las áreas de estudio académico. Contiene texto completo de más de 2.100 revistas, incluidos más de 1.550 títulos revisados por colegas.
OAIster This link opens in a new window A collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window Significant primary materials, in a multilingual format, from countries and cultures around the world. Includes general works, philosophy & psychology, religion, social sciences, language, science, technology, arts & recreation, literature, history & geography.

A-Z Database List

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
REVELATION--Biblical teaching	Church--universal
BIBLE--Authority	Church--local
BIBLE--Inspiration	global south
ISLAM--Relations--Christianity	theological translatability
Qur'ān--Relation to the Bible	Sutras
ISLAM--Sacred books	Vedras
BUDDHISM--Relations--Christianity
BUDDHISM--Sacred books
HINDUISM--Sacred books
CHRISTIANITY & other religions
PRIESTHOOD, Universal
GIFTS, Spiritual
PENTECOSTALISM [AND] MISSIONS--Theory
RAPTURE (Christian eschatology)
GUILT & culture
HONOR
SHAME
SALVATION--Buddhism
SALVATION--Christianity
SALVATION--Comparative studies
PURE LAND (Buddhist school)
COMMUNISM & individualsim