LibGuides: LIT1312/3 The New Testament as Literature: Databases

Selected Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database covering virtually every area of academic study. Contains nearly 18,000 indexed and abstracted journals and magazines of which more than 15,930 are peer-reviewed. Includes more than 2,280 full-text journals and magazines of which 1,762 are peer-reviewed.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window This may be searched by author, title, or subject. If there is a Bible text which is being investigated, go to the top of the screen and click, Scriptures, then click the Book of the Bible, then click the chapter, then click the verse. Then pick the citations which are the most narrowly focused on that passage. Click "Languages" on the upper bar to change to another interface languages.
CREDO General Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Covers every major subject from over 70 of the world’s best publishers.
Directory of Open Access Repositories This link opens in a new window
Lets you search the contents of the repositories listed in OpenDOAR for freely available academic research information. This quality assured approach minimises (but does not eliminate) spurious or junk results, and leads more directly to useful and relevant information. Full texts are available for most results.
Bases de Dato en Español (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Una base de datos multidisciplinaria que cubre prácticamente todas las áreas de estudio académico. Contiene texto completo de más de 2.100 revistas, incluidos más de 1.550 títulos revisados por colegas.
eBook Religion Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The unique collection covers a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, history of religions, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism and religious texts. Content in the collection help readers explore religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems and world views.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
A collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.

A-Z Database List

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
Pharisees	pharisees
Honor in the Bible	Honor [AND] shame
Shame in the Bible
Patronage in the Bible
Kinship in the Bible
Purity, Ritual -- Judaism
Judaism -- History -- Post-Exilic Period, 586 BC-210 AD
Literature, Intertestamental
Jewish sects [AND] Pharisees
Bible. Corinthians I
Bible. Corinthians II
Bible. Thessalonians I
Bible. Thessalonians II
Bible. Philemon
Bible. Corinthians I--Criticism, interpretation
Bible. Corinthians II--Criticism, interpretation
Bible. Thessalonians I--Criticism, interpretation
Bible. Thessalonians II--Criticism, interpretation
Bible. Philemon--Criticism, interpretation