LibGuides: BIB1032/3 The Life of Christ in the Synoptic Gospels: General Reference

Selected Reference Works

A reference work is a book or serial publication that contains useful facts and information such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauruses, almanacs, and catalogs. Generally, reference works are consulted for particular pieces of information, rather than read from beginning to end. Most reference works are compiled by a team of contributors whose work is coordinated by one or more editors rather than by an individual author. Updated editions are usually published as needed, in some cases annually (e.g., almanacs, who's who). NOTE: Dictionary definitions and very short encyclopedia entries can be used as a beginning point in your research, however, do not count these sources as one of the "minimum of three" academic resources. Interacting with more in-depth academic material will help raise your score.

New Testament Reading Room (Tyndale Seminary) Makes New Testament commentaries, dictionaries and related resources available to those without easy access to a theological library. Many of the links below connect you to scanned, published books made available by Google Books (often 75% of content).
StudyLight A gateway to the largest collection of online Bible study tools and resources. StudyLight has more Bible commentaries, encyclopedias, dictionaries, parallel Bibles, interlinear Bibles, and original language tools than any other website on the internet! Explore our site and benefit from all the amazing features and resources that will help to illuminate the Word of God like never before.
The Holy Bible, King James Version, Cambridge University Press

Bible Dictionaries:

Bible Dictionaries (StudyLight) Choose from 27 Bible Dictionaries freely available online at StudyLight.org for sermon, Bible study, and Sunday school preparation. These include topics/subjects found in the Bible.
Dictionary of Bible Themes The Dictionary of Bible Themes contains over 2,000 thematic articles with an explanation of the theme, key Bible references, and cross-references to related themes.
Dictionary of daily life in biblical and post-biblical antiquity : complete in one volume / by Edwin M. Yamauchi and Marvin R. Wilson
Synoptic Problem (Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels) The Synoptic Problem deals with the interrelationship of the Synoptic Gospels (*Matthew, *Mark, *Luke) and addresses a foundational question: What is the best explanation for the textual similarities and differences between Matthew, Mark, and Luke? Based on the Synoptic evidence, this question can be split into a number of subquestions, which can be formulated on the basis of the most commonly accepted solution, the two-source hypothesis .
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
Ultimate Bible Dictionary : A Quick and Concise Guide to the People, Places, Objects, and Events in the Bible

Commentaries:

Asbury Bible Commentary (BibleGateway.com) " The first one-volume evangelical Wesleyan commentary on the entire Bible. Nearly 50 Wesleyan scholars collaborated on this landmark aid to pastors, students, and Bible readers."
A student's guide to the New Testament / edited by Bill Domeris and Zoltan Erdey
Matthew (Beacon Bible Expositions) / by William E. McCumber
Matthew, Mark, Luke (Beacon Bible Commentary) / by Ralph Earle, Charles L. Childers, and A. Elwood Sanner Insights from 40 Bible scholars, with in-depth explanations of Scripture, critical analysis of key words and phrases, and outlines for expository preaching. Based on KJV.
Bible Commentaries (StudyLight) This collection of over 100 older Bible commentaries includes those used by scholars over the years.

Bible Commentary Quick Search This link opens in a new window Enter Scripture reference.

Bible Hub Study tools include Bible versions, atlas, concordance, dictionary, encyclopedia, commentaries, interlinear, lexicon, apocrypha, measures, thesaurus, and more. Multilingual sources include English, Español, Français, Deutsch, Russian, Chinese and more.
Bible Study Tools: Commentaries Commentaries aid in the study of Scripture by providing explanation and interpretation of Biblical text. They give verse by verse exposition.
Matthew (Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary) / by Ben Witherington Provides a brief guide to the information that is necessary for reading and interpreting the text: the historical setting, literary design, and theological significance. Also includes a comprehensive outline.
Mark (Beacon Bible Expositions) / by A. Elwood Sanner
Mark (Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary) / by R. Alan Culpepper Mark highlights Markan themes and makes numerous cross-references between related passages. The Gospel, moreover, remains one of the pillars of the Christian faith and tradition, one that is endlessly fascinating, inspiring, and pivotal for our understanding of Jesus.
Luke / by Richard Bolling Vinson The Gospel of Luke narrates the life of Jesus from the nativity stories to Jesus' baptism and temptation, ministry in Galilee, the journey to and teaching in Jerusalem, and finally his death and resurrection.
Luke (Beacon Bible Expositions) / by Reuben Welch

Encyclopedia:

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica is the oldest English-language general encyclopedia. Encyclopedia Britannica Online is the website of Encyclopedia Britannica, with more than 120,000 articles that are updated regularly. It has daily features, updates and links to news reports from The New York Times and the BBC.

International Standard Bible Encyclopedia The ISBE is a classic Bible reference compiled from nearly 10,000 entries written by over 200 different Bible scholars and teachers. In addition to the encyclopedia articles, all of the major words of the Bible are represented and defined. The historical, cultural, and linguistic information in the ISBE can be of great value in Bible study and research.
Theopedia: an Encyclopedia of Biblical Christianity Theopedia is a growing online evangelical encyclopedia of biblical Christianity, a network of interconnected pages, constantly being refined and updated.

Greek Interlinear Bible (New Testament):

Greek-English Interlinear Bible There is the Greek script of each word, with accents ... and an English translation of each word below. Above each Greek word there is a transliteration which helps people to pronounce the word, and linked to each transliterated word there is a page which gives a list of other places where the same word is used in the Bible.
Greek Interlinear Bible (NT) (Scripture4All) This uses the Scriveners Textus Receptus 1894 (Basis of KJV / AV translation) and presents it chapter by chapter.

Harmony of the Gospels:

Harmony of the Gospels / by A. T. Robertson. This is a .pdf downloadable copy of the standard Harmony of the Gospels.
The Fourfold Gospel Also known as a "Harmony of the Four Gospels", this work by J. W. McGarvey and Philip Y. Pendleton is a complete chronology of the life of Christ, divided into titled sections and sub-divisions, with comments injected in the text.

Jesus Christ: Key events in His Life:

Timeline of Jesus Timeline giving the order for the life of Jesus Christ and what he did during His time of ministry.

Jesus Christ: Ministry (Maps)

Map of the Ministry of Jesus (Clickable map) An understanding of the geography of the ancient world is of tremendous value in understanding the life of Jesus.
Maps of Jesus Ministry (Galyn Wiemers) This provides chronological maps of Jesus' ministry as recorded in the gospels.

Jesus Teachings:

Jesus Teachings as told in the Gospels. (Christian Bible Reference Site) Summary of the teachings of Jesus during His three years of earthly ministry.

Jewish Religious development before the Birth of Jesus Christ:

Jewish Virtual Religion (History & Timelines) This gives overviews of the history on the Jewish people and their timelines.
Judaism (Encyclopaedia Britannica) Judaism is the religion of the Jews. It is the complex phenomenon of a total way of life for the Jewish people, comprising theology, law, and innumerable cultural traditions.

Palestine - Historical Background

Palestine (Bible Hub) This provides the text from Bible dictionaries relating to the Biblical region called Palestine.

Parables:

Synoptic Gospels Compared:

Major differences between John and the Synoptic Gospels (W. Hall Harris III) Discussion of the topics unique and topics shared among and between the Synoptic Gospels and John.
Synoptic Gospel Parallels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, plus John) The synoptic Gospels are the first three Gospels of the New Testament, Matthew, Mark and Luke and are considered as one unit. The Gospel parallels provided here also include the Gospel of John for comparison. ... the contents of these three Gospels can be viewed side-by-side.

Search Reference Books

Search Terms/Keywords

Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search for topics in your Project and/or CRA. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Adanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them.

You can also search by "keyword" in the All Text or Optional fields.

Suggested search terms:

LCSH	Keyword
JESUS Christ--Parables	Life of Christ
JESUS Christ--Person & offices	parable(s)
TROELTSCH, Ernest, 1865-1923
LIBERALISM (Religion)
RESURRECTION
MARY, Virgin--Virginity
JESUS Christ in literature
JESUS Christ--Person & offices--Study & teaching
JESUS Christ--Atonement
JESUS Christ--Baptism
JESUS Christ--Birth
JESUS Christ--Crucifixion
JESUS Christ--Divinity
JESUS Christ--Humanity
JESUS Christ--Nativity
JESUS Christ--Resurrection
VIRGIN Birth
INCARNATION

Additional General Reference Resources

Perry–Castañeda Library Map Collection
Bartleby Great Books Online Literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with access to books and information.

Bible Commentary Quick Search This link opens in a new window Enter Scripture reference.

BibleGateway A tool for reading and researching scripture online -- all in the language or translation of your choice! It provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in multiple Bible translations.
Diccionario Español
Dictionary / Thesaurus

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica is the oldest English-language general encyclopedia. Encyclopedia Britannica Online is the website of Encyclopedia Britannica, with more than 120,000 articles that are updated regularly. It has daily features, updates and links to news reports from The New York Times and the BBC.

Holman Christian Study Bible