Theology

Surveys, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

Systematic Theology

Biblical Theology (see OT and NT pages)

Philosophical Theology / Philosophy of Religion

Contemporary Theology

Prolegomena

Revelation and Scripture

Apologetics

Theology Proper

Creation

Angelology

Anthropology

Christology

Pneumatology

Soteriology and the Christian Life

Ecclesiology

Eschatology

 

Surveys, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias:

 

Elwell, W.A. 1996. Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology. Baker Books. 

Elwell, Walter A. 1984. Evangelical Dictionary of Theology Baker Reference Library.Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House. 

Enns, P.P. 1989. The Moody Handbook of Theology. Moody Press. 

Ferguson, S.B. and D.F. Wright. 1988. New Dictionary of Theology. Inter-Varsity Press. 

House, H. Wayne. 1992. Charts of Christian Theology and Doctrine. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan. 

Keeley, Robin. 1982. Eerdmans' Handbook to Christian Belief. 1st American ed. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdman's. 

Kittel, Gerhard, Gerhard Friedrich and Geoffrey William Bromiley. 1985. Theological Dictionary of the New TestamentGrand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans. 

Reese, William L. 1980. Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion : Eastern and Western Thought. Atlantic Highlands, N.J.: Humanities Press. 

Richardson, A. and J. John Bowden. 1983. The Westminster Dictionary of Christian TheologyWestminster John Knox Press. http://books.google.com/books?id=PN7UMUTBBPAC&printsec=frontcover

 

Systematic Theology:

 

Bloesch, Donald G. 1992. A Theology of Word & Spirit : Authority & Method in Theology. Vol. 1 Christian Foundations. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press. http://books.google.com/books?id=v90LUJ7xSA0C&printsec=frontcover 

Bloesch, Donald G. 1994. Holy Scripture : Revelation, Inspiration & Interpretation. Vol. 2 Christian Foundations. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press. http://books.google.com/books?id=dYP2yehSASoC&printsec=frontcover 

Bloesch, Donald G. 1995. God, the Almighty : Power, Wisdom, Holiness, Love. Vol. 3 Christian Foundations. Downers Grove,Ill.: InterVarsity Press. http://books.google.com/books?id=NKN81KnTE8YC&printsec=frontcover 

Bloesch, Donald G. 1997. Jesus Christ : Savior & Lord. Vol. 4 Christian Foundations. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.http://books.google.com/books?id=SGtx3f6hBWoC&printsec=frontcover 

Bloesch, Donald G. 2000. The Holy Spirit : Works & Gifts. Vol. 5 Christian Foundations. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsityPress. http://books.google.com/books?id=0X3yAjWQ9ZIC&printsec=frontcover 

Boyce, James Petigru. 1887. Abstract of Systematic Theology. James P. Boyce. 

Calvin, Jean. 1960. Institutes of the Christian Religion. 2 vols. The Library of Christian Classics. Philadelphia, Penn. : Westminster Press. 

Demarest, Bruce A. and Gordon Russell Lewis. 1994. Integrative Theology. 3 vols. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan Academic. http://books.google.com/books?id=rsqh3Vz7G_MC&printsec=frontcover 

Erickson, Millard J. 1998. Christian Theology. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House. http://books.google.com/books?id=0PbBz6-XcssC&printsec=frontcover 

Garrett, James Leo. 1990-1995. Systematic Theology : Biblical, Historical, and Evangelical2 vols. Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans Pub. Co. 

Grudem, Wayne A. 1994. Systematic Theology : An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan Pub. House. http://books.google.com/books?id=2DUPWk9ng3wC&printsec=frontcover 

Hodge, Charles. 1907. Systematic Theology. 3 vols. Rev. ed. ed. Old Tappan, New Jersey: Revell. 

McGrath, Alister E. 1992. Understanding Doctrine : Its Relevance and Purpose for Today. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan Pub. House. 

McGrath, Alister E. 1997. Christian Theology : An Introduction. 2nd ed. ed. Oxford, UK: Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell. 

 

Philosophical Theology / Philosophy of Religion:

 

Brown, Colin, Steve Wilkens and Alan G. Padgett. 1990. Christianity & Western Thought : A History of Philosophers, Ideas & Movements. 3 vols. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.  http://books.google.com/books?id=CbwreEpU64wC&printsec=frontcover 

Dockery, David S. 1995. The Challenge of Postmodernism : An Evangelical Engagement. Wheaton, Ill.: Victor Books. 

Evans, C. Stephen. 1985. Philosophy of Religion : Thinking About Faith Contours of Christian Philosophy. Downers Grove, Ill., U.S.A.: InterVarsity Press. http://books.google.com/books?id=bmSXjRVWAsMC&printsec=frontcover 

Geisler, Norman L. and Winfried Corduan. 1988. Philosophy of Religion. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House. 

Hunnex, Milton D. 1986. Chronological and Thematic Charts of Philosophies and Philosophers. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Academie Books. 

Magill, Frank N. 1961. Masterpieces of World Philosophy in Summary Form. 1st ed. New York,: Harper. 

Noebel, David A. 1991. Understanding the Times : The Religious Worldviews of Our Day and the Search for TruthManitou Springs, CO: Summit Press. 

Peterson, Michael L. 1998. Reason & Religious Belief : An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press. 

Plantinga, Alvin and Nicholas Wolterstorff. 1983. Faith and Rationality : Reason and Belief in God. Notre Dame: University of Notre Dame Press. 

Solomon, Robert C. and Kathleen Marie Higgins. 1996. A Short History of Philosophy. New York: Oxford University Press. 

Taliaferro, Charles. 1998. Contemporary Philosophy of Religion. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell. 

Urmson, J. O. 1975. The Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy and Philosophers. 2nd ed. London: Hutchinson. 

 

Contemporary Theology:

 

Ferm, Deane William. 1981. Contemporary American Theologies : A Critical Survey. New York: Seabury Press. 

Ford, David. 1997. The Modern Theologians : An Introduction to Christian Theology in the Twentieth Century2nd ed. Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell Publishers. 

Grenz, Stanley J. and Roger E. Olson. 1992. 20th Century Theology : God & the World in a Transitional AgeDowners Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press. http://books.google.com/books?id=bj9cJHj3vUwC&printsec=frontcover 

Gundry, Stanley N. and Alan F. Johnson. 1983. Tensions in Contemporary Theology. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Book House. 

Nash, Ronald H. 1984. On Liberation Theology. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House.

Nash, Ronald H. 1987. On Process Theology. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House.

 

Prolegomena:

 

Bloesch, Donald G. 1992. A Theology of Word & Spirit : Authority & Method in Theology Christian FoundationsDowners Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press. 

Kantzer, Kenneth S., John D. Woodbridge and Thomas Edward McComiskey. 1991. Doing Theology in Today's World: Essays in Honor of Kenneth S. Kantzer. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan. 

Lints, Richard. 1993. The Fabric of Theology : A Prolegomenon to Evangelical Theology. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans. http://books.google.com/books?id=QFPtEPClO9sC&printsec=frontcover 

Wells, David F. 1993. No Place for Truth, or, Whatever Happened to Evangelical Theology? Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans Pub. Co. http://books.google.com/books?id=ItV2asz-87wC&printsec=frontcover 

Wells, David F. 1994.God in the Wasteland : The Reality of Truth in a World of Fading Dreams. Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans. http://books.google.com/books?id=xHhXorx5mo4C&printsec=frontcover

Theology - continued

 

Christology:

Erickson, Millard J. 1991.The Word Became Flesh. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House.
 
Harris, Murray J. 1992. Jesus as God: The New Testament Use of Theos in Reference to Jesus.
Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House.
 
Ladd, George Eldon. 1975. I Believe in the Resurrection of Jesus I Believe 2. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans.
 
Machen, J. Gresham. 1930. The Virgin Birth of Christ. New York and London: Harper & brothers.
 
McDonald, H. D. 1985.The Atonement of the Death of Christ: In Faith, Revelation, and History.
Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House.
 
Morris, Leon. 1955.The Apostolic Preaching of the Cross. 1st ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans.
 
Pannenberg, Wolfhart. 1968. Jesus, God and Man. Philadelphia: Westminster Press.
 
Piper, John. 2001. Seeing and Savoring Jesus Christ. Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway Books.
 
Stein, Robert H. 1996. Jesus the Messiah: A Survey of the Life of Christ.
Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.
 
Stott, John R. W. 1986. The Cross of Christ. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.
 
Wilkins, Michael J. and James Porter Moreland. 1995. Jesus under Fire.
Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan.
 
Wright, N. T. 1993. Who Was Jesus? 1st North American ed. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans.
 
Wright, N.T. 1996. Jesus and the Victory of God. Vol. 2 Christian Origins and Question of God.
Augsburg Fortress Pub.

Pneumatology:

Badcock, Gary D. 1997. Light of Truth and Fire of Love: A Theology of the Holy Spirit.
Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans.
 
Bruner, Frederick Dale. 1970. A Theology of the Holy Spirit: the Pentecostal Experience
and the New Testament Witness. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans.
 
Fee, Gordon D. 1994. God's Empowering Presence: The Holy Spirit in the Letters of Paul.
Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson Publishers.
 
Ferguson, Sinclair B. 1996. The Holy Spirit Contours of Christian Theology.
Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.
 
Gaffin, Richard B. and Wayne A. Grudem. 1996. Are Miraculous Gifts for Today?: Four Views
Counterpoints. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan Pub.
 
Green, Michael. 1975. I Believe in the Holy Spirit I Believe No 1. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans.
 
MacArthur, John. 1992. Charismatic Chaos. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan Pub. House.
 
Packer, J. I. 1984. Keep in Step with the Spirit. Old Tappan, N.J.: F.H. Revell.
 
Williams, Donald T. 1994. The Person and Work of the Holy Spirit:
The Holy Spirit Effects in Us What Christ Has Done for Us. Nashville, Tenn.: Broadman & Holman.

Soteriology and the Christian Life:

Alexander, Donald and Sinclair B. Ferguson. 1988. Christian Spirituality: Five Views of Sanctification.
Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.
 
Bounds, Edward M. 1990. The Complete Works of E.M. Bounds on Prayer.
Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House.
 
Bunyan, J. 1964. The Pilgrim's Progress. Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated.
 
Demarest, Bruce A. 1997. The Cross and Salvation: The Doctrine of Salvation
Foundations of Evangelical Theology. Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway Books.
 
Foster, Richard J. 1988. Celebration of Discipline: Understanding How God Changes Lives.
San Francisco: Harper.
 
Hoekema, Anthony A. 1989. Saved by Grace. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans Pub. Co.
 
MacArthur, John. 1988. The Gospel According to Jesus: What Does Jesus Mean When He Says "Follow Me"?
Grand Rapids, Mich.: Academic and Professional Books, Zondervan Pub. House.
 
MacArthur, John. 1991. Our Sufficiency in Christ. Dallas: Word Pub.
 
Murray, John. 1955. Redemption: Accomplished and Applied. Grand Rapids:
W. B. Eerdmans Pub. Co.
 
Peterson, David. 1995. Possessed by God: A New Testament Theology of
Sanctification and Holiness. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans.
 
Schreiner, Thomas R. and Ardel B. Caneday. 2001. The Race Set before Us:
A Biblical Theology of Perseverance & Assurance. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.
 
Schreiner, Thomas R. and Bruce A. Ware. 1995. The Grace of God, the Bondage of the Will.
2 vols. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Books.
 
White, J. 1976. The Fight: A Practical Handbook for Christian Living. InterVarsity Press.
 
Whitney, Donald S. 1991. Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life. Colorado Springs, Colo.: NavPress.
 
Willard, Dallas. 1988. The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives.
1st ed. San Francisco: Harper & Row.

Ecclesiology:

Anderson, Leith. 1990. Dying for Change. Minneapolis, Minn.: Bethany House Publishers.
 
Anderson, Leith. 1992. A Church for the 21st Century. Minneapolis, Minn.: Bethany House
 
Bakke, Raymond J. and Jim Hart. 1987. The Urban Christian: Effective Ministry in Today's Urban World.
Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.
 
Clowney, Edmund P. and Gerald Lewis Bray. 1995. The Church Contours of Christian Theology.
Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.
 
Colson, Charles W. and Ellen Santilli Vaughn. 1992. The Body. Dallas: Word Pub.
 
Peterson, David. 1993. Engaging with God: A Biblical Theology of Worship.
1st North American ed. Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans,
 
Radmacher, Earl D. 1972. The Nature of the Church. Portland: Western Baptist Press.
 
Saucy, Robert L. 1972. The Church in God's Program. Chicago: Moody Press.
 
Warren, Richard. 1995. The Purpose Driven Church: Growth without Compromising Your
Message & Mission. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan Pub.
 
Webber, Robert. 1986. The Church in the World: Opposition, Tension, or Transformation?
Grand Rapids, Mich.: Academie Books.
 
Whitney, Donald S. 1996. Spiritual Disciplines within the Church: Participating Fully in the Body of Christ.
Chicago, Ill.: Moody Press.
 

Eschatology:

Archer, Gleason, Paul Feinberg, Douglas Moo and Richard Reiter. 1984. The Rapture.
Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan Pub. House.
 
Blaising, Craig A. and Darrell L. Bock. 1993. Progressive Dispensationalism.
Wheaton, Ill.: BridgePoint.
 
Bock, Darrell L., Walter C. Kaiser and Craig A. Blaising. 1992. Dispensationalism, Israel and the Church:
The Search for Definition. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan Pub. House.
 
Criswell, W. A. and Paige Patterson. 1991. Heaven. Wheaton, Ill.: Tyndale House.
 
Dixon, Larry. 1992. The Other Side of the Good News. Wheaton, Ill.: Victor Books.
 
Erickson, Millard J. 1977. Contemporary Options in Eschatology: A Study of the Millennium.
Grand Rapids: Baker Book House.
 
Grenz, Stanley J. 1992. The Millennial Maze: Sorting out Evangelical Options.
Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press.
 
Hoekema, Anthony A. 1979. The Bible and the Future. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans.
 
Ladd, George Eldon. 1956. The Blessed Hope. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans.
 
Pentecost, J. Dwight. 1957. Things to Come: A Study in Biblical Eschatology.
Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan.
 
Ryrie, Charles Caldwell. 1965. Dispensationalism Today. Paperback ed. Chicago: Moody Press.
 
Walvoord, John F. 1957. The Rapture Question. Findlay, Ohio: Dunham Pub. Co.
 
Walvoord, John F. 1959. The Millennial Kingdom. Findlay, Ohio: Dunham Pub. Co.