Online Web Resources:

Bible Concordances. StudyLight.org. Online.

BibleGateway.com:  A Searchable Online Bible in over 150 Versions. Online.

BibleHub: Search, Read, Study the Bible in Many Languages. Online.

Bible.org: Where the World Comes to Study the Bible. Online.

BibleStudyTools: Grow Deeper in the Word. Online.

Biblical Studies.org.uk: Making Biblical Scholarship AccessibleOnline.  

BlueLetterBible: Bible Search and Study Tools Online. 

Christian Classics Ethereal Library: Commentaries, Lexicons, Dictionaries; Writings of the Church Fathers.  Online.

Dictionary of Bible ThemesBibleGateway. Online.

Elwell, W.A. 1996. Baker's Exegetical Dictionary of Biblical Theology. Online. Cross referenced to 5 books.

Goodacre, Mark. New Testament Gateway. Online.

Harmony of the Four Gospels. (BlueLetterBible) Online.

International Standard Bible Encyclopedia (ISBE) Index.  Online.

MacArthur, J.F. n.d. Harmony of the Gospels Chart.  Online. Scroll down to see chart.

Nave, O.J. 1903. Nave's Topical Bible. (StudyLight.org)  Online.

Nicholson, Roy. Old Testament Gateway. Online.

Online Parallel Bible. Online.

Reference Study Library (BibleRick) 

Robertson, A.T. 1930-1933. Robertson's Word Pictures in the New Testament. (StudyLight.org) Online.

Schaff, Philip. Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge. (CCEL) Online.

Shelton, Sally. n.d. Open Access Bible Commentaries Quick Search. Online.

Shelton, Sally. n.d. Theological Journals Search.  Online.

Theopedia: An Encyclopedia of Christianity.  Online.

Torrey, R.A. Treasury of Scripture Knowledge. (BibleStudyTools.com)  Online.

Guides to Exegetical Technique

Barton, John.  1996. Reading the Old Testament: Method in Biblical Study. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox.

Conzelman, H., et al. 1994. Interpreting the New Testament: An Interpretation... Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Erickson, R.J.  2005. Beginner's Guide to New Testament Exegesis: Taking the Fear out of...  Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Fee, G.D. 2002. New Testament Exegesis: A Handbook for Students and Pastors. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox.

Harrington, D.J, S.J. 1980. Interpreting the New Testament: A Practical Guide. Collegeville, MN: Michael Glazier.

Hayes, J.H., et al. 2007. Biblical Exegesis: A Beginner's Handbook. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox.

Hayes, John. 1999. Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation. Nashville, TN: Abingdon. 

Wenham, D., et al. 2016. Exploring the New Testament, Vol. 1: Guide to the Gospels and Acts.. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Marshall, I.H., et al. 2016. Exploring the New Testament, Vol. 2: Guide to the Letters and Revelation. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Wenham, D., et al. 2016. Exploring the Old Testament, 4 volumes. Downers Grove, IL: IVP. 

Soulen, R.N., et al. 2011. Handbook of Biblical Criticism. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox.

Steck, O.H., et al. 1998. Old Testament Exegesis: A Guide... Atlanta, GA: Society of Biblical Literature.

 Stuart, Douglas. 2009. Old Testament Exegesis: A Handbook...  Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox.

Study Methods Explained

Exegetical Study Methods. Francis A. Schaeffer Institute of Church Leadership Development. Online.

Smith, K.G. n.d. How to do an Exegetical Study. Online.

What are Exegesis, Eisegesis, and Hermeneutics?  SpiritHome.com. Online.

Old Testament in the New

Ciampa, R. 2013. Books on the Use of the Old Testament in the New in General. Online.

Nicole, Roger. n.d. New Testament Use of the Old Testament. Online. (From: Revelation and the Bible, C.F.H. Henry)

 Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Bible Dictionaries Online. (StudyLight.org.) Online.

Encyclopaedia Judaica. 1st ed. Users must request password. Old Testament literature from Jewish perspective.

Freedman, D.N. 1992. Anchor Bible Dictionary. Princeton, NJ: Yale University Press.

Freedman, D.N. 2000. Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible.  Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans.

Metzger, B.M., et al. 1993. Oxford Companion to the Bible. Use the blue page numbers in the index. NY: Oxford Univ. Pr.

Orr, James. 1939. International Standard Bible Encyclopedia. Online.

Richards, L.O. 1985. New International Encyclopedia of Bible Words. Grand Rapids, MI: Regency/Zondervan.

Ryken, L., et al. 1998. Dictionary of Biblical Imagery Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Vanhoozer, K.J. 2005. Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible.  Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Verbrugge, V., et al. 2003. New International Dictionary on New Testament Theology. Abridged. Grand Rapids, MI.: Zondervan.

IVP Bible Dictionary Series

Alexander, T.D., et al. 2002. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Arnold, B.T., et al. 2005. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Boda, M.J., et al. 2012. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Evans, C.A., et al. 2000. Dictionary of New Testament Background. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Green, J.B, et al. 2013. Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Hawthorne, G., et al.1993. Dictionary of Paul and His Letters. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Longman, Tremper. 2008. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings. Downers Grove,IL: IVP.

Martin, R.P., et al. 1997. Dictionary of the Later New Testament & Its Development. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.

Lexicons and Dictionaries: Greek

Arndt & Gingrich. 1957.  Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature. Chicago, IL: Univ. of Chicago Pr.

Balz. H., et al. 1994. Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament. (EDNT) 3 vol. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans.  

Danker, F.W. 2001. Greek-English Lexicon ... Third edition. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press.

Gingrich & Danker. 1979. Greek-English Lexicon... Second edition. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press.

Alsop, J.R. 1981. Index to the Revised Bauer-Arndt-Gingrich Greek Lexicon. 2nd edition. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.

Kittel, G., et al. 1985. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament: Abridged. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans.

Liddell-Scott-Jones. n.d Online Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon. Perseus Project. Online.

Louw, J.P., et al. 1988. Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament. NY: American Bible Soc.

Silva, Moisés. 2014. New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis (NIDNTTE).  Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. 

StepBible.org. Hebrew & Greek text with definitions. Mouse over the word to see the gloss.


Brown, F., et al. 1906. Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon. Online.

Einspahr, Bruce.1982. Index to Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew Lexicon. Chicago, IL: Moody.

Gesenius, F.W.. 1846. Hebrew and Chaldee Lexicon. Online.

Holladay, W.L. 1996. Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans.

Koehler, L., et al. 2002. Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament. Study edition. 2 vols.  Boston, MA: Brill Academic.

Old Testament Hebrew Lexicon. (StudyLight.org) Online.

StepBible.org. Hebrew & Greek text with definitions. Mouse over the word to see the gloss.

Wilson, W.. n.d. Wilson's Englishman's Hebrew Dictionary. Online.

Key Word Study Bible

Zodhiates, S., et al. 2013. Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible. Chattanooga, TN: AMG Publishers. Other versions available.

Word Study Aids

Harris, R.L., et al. 2003. Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament.  Chicago, IL:  Moody. 

Mounce, W.D. 2006. Mounce's Complete Expository Dictionary of Old and New Testament Words.  Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.

Robertson, A.T. 1930-1933. Robertson's Word Pictures in the New Testament. (StudyLight.org) Online.

Vincent, M.R. 1887. Vincent's Word Studies in the New Testament. (StudyLight.org)  Online.

Vine, W.E. n.d. Vine's Expository Dictionary of New Testament Words.  (StudyLight.org) Online.

Wuest, Kenneth. n.d. Kenneth Wuest Word Studies Online. (Kvali.blogspot) Online.


Bible Study Resources Keyed to Strong's Exhaustive Concordance Numbers.

Cruden, Alexander. 1800. Cruden's Complete Concordance. (Archive.org)  Online.

Hazard, M.C. 1922. Complete Concordance to the American Standard Version. (Archive.org)  Online.

Nave, O.J. n.d. Nave's Topical Bible (keyed to related sources). (BibleStudyTools.com) Online.

Strong, James. 1890. Strong's Exhaustive Concordance Online. (BibleStudyTools.com) Online.

Torrey, R.A. n.d. Torrey's New Topical Textbook. (BibleStudyTools.com)  Online.

Young, Robert  1881  Analytical Concordance to the Bible. (Archive.org) Online.


Beacon Bible Expositions. (Church of the Nazarene) Online.

Bible Commentaries. (BibleHub) Over 50 commentaries are linked here. Online.

Critical and Exegetical Commentary (ICC). Archive.org.  Online.

IVP New Testament Commentary Series. (BibleGateway.com)  Online.

Older Bible Commentaries. (StudyLight.org) Over 100 commentaries are linked here. Online.

Utley, Bob. n.d. Free Bible Commentary. Multilingual. Online.

Surveys of Commentaries - Finders Lists

Carson, D.A. 2013. New Testament Commentary Survey. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Gardner, Lynn.2006. Choosing a Commentary.  Joplin, MO: College Press.

Glynn, J.J.  2013. Commentary and Reference Survey: Comprehensive Guide...  Grand Rapids, MI: Kregel.

Longman, Tremper, III. 2013. Old Testament Commentary Survey.  Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Stuart, D.K.  1990. Guide to Selecting and Using Bible Commentaries. Dallas, TX: Word Pub.

Versions of the Bible

Bible Gateway. "Over 1600 versions..." "over 1200 languages..."

Bible Versions and Translations. (BibleStudyTools)

Topics in the Bible

Bible Verse by Topics. Scroll down to see topics.

Bratcher, R.G., et al. 1970. Bible Index. (Helps for Translators).  Wiltshire, UK: United Bible Societies.

Day, A.C. 2014. Roget's Thesaurus of the Bible. Houston,TX: Castle Books.

Elwell, W.A. 2012. Topical Analysis of the Bible.  Peabody, MA: Hendrickson.

Manser, M.H., et al. 1999. Zondervan Dictionary of Bible Themes. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.

Nave, O.J. 1903. Nave's Topical Bible. (StudyLight.org)  Online.

Periodicals - Journals

Researchers seeking journal articles should go to the Research Tab on the Global University Library Home Page.

Click the A - Z Databases tab and use the listed Periodical Databases, and the Open Access Journals list.

Also, researchers may go to IngentaConnect and search by author, title, or subject. It will offer possible articles' titles and source.

If there are no libraries close to the researcher, the site offers access to a copy of each article for a fee per article.

A list of Open Access, freely accessible journals may be found at DOAJ, Directory of Open Access Journals.