Biblical Studies

 
 

 

Handbooks:

Alexander, David, et al. 1994. Eerdmans Handbook of the Bible. Grand Rapids: Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans. AMAZON.

Alexander, Pat, et al. 2017. Zondervan Handbook to the Bible. Grand Rapids: Mich.: Zondervan. AMAZON.

Blaiklock, E. M. 1987. Today's Handbook of Bible Characters. Wheaton, Ill. : Bethany. AMAZON.

Fee, Gordon D. 2002. New Testament Exegesis: A Handbook... Louisville, KY: Westminster.  AMAZON.

Halley, Henry H. 2012. Halley's Bible Handbook Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books.

Hayes, J. H. & Holladay, C. R. 2007.Biblical Exegesis: a ... Handbook. Atlanta: John Knox Press. Google Books.

Hayford, Jack. 1999. Hayford's Bible Handbook: ...Spirit-filled Bible Study. Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson. AMAZON.

Mears, Henrietta. 2016. What the Bible is All About. Wheaton, Ill. : Regal. Google Books.

Morgan, G. Campbell. 1982. Handbook for Bible Teachers and Preachers. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker. AMAZON.

Musser, D.W. et al. 2011. New...Handbook of Christian Theology. Rev.Ed. Abingdon Press.  AMAZON. 

Pilch, John J. 2012. Cultural Handbook to the Bible. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. Google Books.

Unger, Merrill F., rev. by Gary N. Larson. 2005. New Unger's Bible Handbook. Chicago: Moody Press. AMAZON.

Wilmington, Harold F. 2012. Wilmington's Guide to the Bible. Carol Stream, IL: Tyndale House. Google Books. 

Study Bibles:

Bibles in Your Language (Ethnic Harvest) Online or Purchase. Website.

Carson, D. A. 2015. Zondervan Study Bible. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. AMAZON.

Dake, Finis J.2014. Dake's Annotated Reference Bible. Lawrenceville, GA: Dake Pub. Inc. AMAZON.

Hayford, Jack W., ed. 2015. New Spirit-Filled Life Bible. Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson. AMAZON.

Kantzer, Kenneth, ed. 2012. Life Application Study Bible. Carol Stream: Tyndale House. Google Books.

MacArthur, J.F. 2015. MacArthur Study Bible. Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson. AMAZON.

Ryrie, C. C. 2011. Ryrie Study Bible.  Chicago, IL: Moody Pub. AMAZON.

Stamps, Donald C. Fire Bible. Springfield, MO: Life Publishers. Available in multiple languages. AMAZON.

Thompson, C. T. 2008. Thompson Chain-Reference Bible. Indianapolis, IN: Kirkbride Bible Co. AMAZON.

Zodhiates, Spiros. 2015. Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible. Chattanooga, TN: AMG Pub. AMAZON.

Concordances:

Cruden, Alexander. 1737. Cruden's Concordance.  eBook Download.  LINK.

Goodrich, E.W., et al.1999. Strongest NIV Exhaustive Concordance. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books.

Kohlenberger, John, et al. 2000.  Analytical Concordance to the N. R. S. V.  Grand Rapids: Eerdmans. Google Books.

Kohlenberger, John, et al. 2008. Zondervan TNIV Compact Concordance. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books.

Moulton, M.F., et al. 2014. Concordance to the Greek New Testament. New York: Bloomsbury Academic.  Google Books.

Nave, Orville J. 1973. Nave's Topical Bible Concordance. Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson.   LINK

Strong, James. 2004. Strongest NASB Exhaustive Concordance. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books.

Strong, James. 1890. Strong's Exhaustive Concordance. BibleStudyTools.   LINK

Thompson, C. T. 2008. Thompson Chain-Reference Bible Concordance. Indianapolis, IN: Kirkbride Bible Co. LINK

Torrey, R.A.  1897. Torrey's Topical Textbook. Murfreesboro, TN: Sword of the Lord. LINK

Torrey, R.A. 1830. Treasury of Scripture Knowledge. London: Samuel Bagster. LINK.

Whitaker, R.E., et al. 2000. Analytical Concordance to the NRSV of the ... Grand Rapids,MI:Eerdmans. Google Books.

Young, Robert. 1879. Analytical Concordance to the Bible...  Internet Archive.org.  LINK

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries:

Anon. 2018. Ancient History Encyclopedia Online. LINK.

Anon. 2018. Encyclopedia Mythica: Mythology. Folklore Online. Religion. Online. LINK.

Anon. 2018. English Dictionary Online. LINK.

Anon. 2018. OneLook Dictionary Online. LINK.

Anon. 2018. Theopedia: An Encyclopedia of Biblical Christianity Online. LINK.

Alexander, T.D., et al. 2003. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch  Downers Grove, IL: IVP. Google Books.

Archer, G.L. New International Encyclopedia of Bible Difficulties. Online. Google Books.

Arnold, B.T., et al. 2011. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books. Downers Grove, IL: IVP. Google Books.

Arnold, Clinton E. 2002. Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI.: Zondervan. Google Books.

Boda, M.J., et al. 2013. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets. Downers Grove, IL: IVP. Google Books.

Brown, Colin.1975-78. The New... Dictionary of New Testament Theology Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.  Google Books.

Douglas, J.D., et al. 1987. New International Dictionary of the Bible. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books.

Elwell, W.A. 1996. Baker's Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker.  LINK.

Freedman, D.N. 1992. Anchor Bible Dictionary. 6 vol.  New York: Doubleday. Google Books.

Green, J.B., et al. 2013. Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. Wheaton, IL: IVP. Google Books. Use Blue Page numbers in index.

Hastings, James, et al. 1916. Dictionary of the Bible Online. New York: Scribners. Google Books. 

Hawthorne, G.F. et al. 2009. Dictionary of Paul and His Letters. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.  Google Books.

Herbermann, C. G., et al. 1907-1914. Catholic Encyclopedia Online. New York: Appleton. LINK.

Kittel, G., et al. 1985. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Abridged.  Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. Google Books. 

Longman, T. 2008. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings. Downers Grove, IL: IVP. Google Books.

Manser, M.H,et al. 2009. Dictionary of Bible Themes Online. LINK.

Martin, R.P., et al. 2010. Dictionary of the Later New Testament. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.  Google Books.

Orr, James, et al. 1939. International Standard Bible Encyclopedia Online. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans. LINK.

Richards, Larry. 1993. Bible Difficulties Solved: Answers to more than 500 Baffling... Grand Rapids: Revell. Google Books

Schaff, Philip. 1908-1914. Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge Online. CCEL.org. LINK.

Silva, M. 2014. New ...Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Amazon.

Yamauchi, E.M., et al. 2017  Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical ...Antiquity. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson. Google Books.

Youngblood, R.F. 2014. Nelson's Illustrated Bible Dictionary. Mostly online. Nashville, TN: Nelson. Google Books.

Zalta, E. N., et al. 2018. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online. Stanford, CA: Stanford University. LINK.

Word Studies:

Anon. n.d. Blue Letter Bible. Online.  LINK.

Balz, Horst, et al. 1990. Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans.   AMAZON.

Baker, Warren. 1994. Complete Word Study Old Testament. Chattanooga, TN: AMG.  AMG

Barr, J. 2004. Semantics of Biblical Language. Eugene, OR:Wipf & Stock. AMAZON.

Botterweck, G.J., et al.Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. AMAZON.

Brown, Colin.1975-78. The New... Dictionary of New Testament Theology Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.  AMAZON.

Brown-Driver-Briggs. 1906. Old Testament Hebrew Lexicon Dictionary. Online.  LINK.

Harris, R.L., et al. 2003. Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament. Chicago, IL: Moody. AMAZON.

Jenni, E. et al. 1997. Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament. Peabody: Hendrickson. AMAZON.

Kittel, G., et al. 1985. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament:..1 Volume. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. AMAZON.

Mounce, W.D. 2006. Mounce’s Complete Expository Dictionary of Old & New Testament Words.  AMAZON. 

Richards, L.O., et al. 1991. Zondervan Expository Dictionary of Bible Words. Grand Rapids, IL: Zondervan. AMAZON.

Robertson, A.T.  1930-1933. Word Pictures in the New Testament. Online. StudyLight.

Silva, M. 2010. Biblical Words and Their Meanings: ...Lexical Semantics. Grand Rapids, IL: Zondervan.  AMAZON.

Spicq, Ceslas. 1994.Theological Lexicon of the New Testament.  Peabody: Hendrickson . AMAZON.

Thayer, et al. 1889. Old & New Testament Greek Lexical Dictionary. Online. LINK

Turner, Nigel. 1982. Christian Words (Used copies only)  AMAZON.

Van Gemeren, W.A. New ... Dictionary of Old Test. Theo. and Exegesis (CD) Grand Rapids, IL:Zondervan. AMAZON.

Vincent, M.R. 1887. Word Studies in the New Testament. Online. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. StudyLight.

Vine, W.E. 1940. Vine's Expository Dictionary of Old and New Testament Words.  Online. LINK.

Wilson, William. 1987. New Wilson's O.T. Word Studies: Keyed to Strong...and Harris... Grand Rapids, MI: Kregel.

Wuest, K.S. 1961. Word Studies in the Greek New Testament.  Online. eSword

Zodhiates, Spiros. 1991. Complete Word Study New Testament. Chattanooga, TN: AMG.   AMG 

Zodhiates, Spiros. 2015. Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible. Chattanooga, TN: AMG.   AMG.

Zodhiates, Spiros. 2016. Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible Spanish Edition. Chattanooga, TN: AMG.   AMG.

Introductions:

Arnold, B.T.  2015. Encountering the Old Testament. (See Table of Contents) Grand Rapids, MI: Baker.  Google Books.

Beckwith, R. 2008. Old Testament Canon... (See Table of Contents) Eugene, OR: Wipf & Stock.  Google Books.

Birch, B.C., et al. 2011. Theol. Intro. to the Old Test. (See Table of Contents) Nashville, TN: Abingdon.  Google Books.

Boadt, L. 1984. Reading the Old Testament. (See Table of Contents) Mahwah, NJ: Paulist.  Google Books.

Brown, R., et al. 1997. Introduction to the New Testament.(See Table of Contents) New Haven, CT: Yale. Google Books.

Burge, G.M., et al. 2009. New Testament in Antiquity. (Use its index) Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.  Google Books.

Carson, D.A., et al. 2009. Intro. to the New Test. (See Table of Contents) Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.   Google Books.

deSilva, D.A. 2004. Intro. to the New Testament. (Use its index) Downers Grove, IL: IVP. Google Books.

Gromacki, R. G. 2008. New Testament Survey. (See Table of Contents) Grand Rapids, MI: Baker.   Google Books.

Hill, A.E., et al. 2010. Survey of the Old Testment. (See Table of Contents) Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.  Google Books.

Jensen, Irving. 1981. Jensen's Bible Study Charts.  Chicago, IL: Moody.  AMAZON.

Jensen, Irving. 1981. Jensen's Survey of the New Testament. (Use its index.) Chicago,IL: Moody.  Google Books.

Jensen, Irving. 1978. Jensen's Survey of the Old Testament. (Use its index.) Chicago, IL: Moody. Google Books.

Longman, T., et al. 2009. Intro. to the Old Test. (See Table of Contents)  Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books

Metzger, Bruce. 1997. Canon of the New Testament. (See Table of Contents). Oxford, UK: Clarendon.  Google Books.

Patzia, A.G. 2011. Making of the New Testament. (See Table of Contents) Downers Grove, IL: IVP.  Google Books.

Witherington, Ben.2001. New Testament History. (See Table of Contents) Grand Rapids, MI: Baker.  Google Books.

Zahn, T., et al. 1917. Introduction to the New Testament. (Read) N.Y., NY: Scribners. Archive.org.

Background and Archaeology:

Anon. 2005. NIV, Archaeological Study Bible ... Illustrated. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.  Google Books.

Anon. 2015. NIV Cultural Backgrounds Study Bible. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books.

Arnold, C.E., et al. 2002. Zondervan Bible Backgrounds Commentary: N.T. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. AMAZON.

Free, J.P., et al. 1992. Archaeology and Bible History. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.  Google Books.

Holden, J.M., et al. 2013. Popular Handbook of Arch.... (Use its Index) Eugene, OR: Harvest House. Google Books.

Johnson, B.O. 2010. Background Materials for Teachers; OT Surv.: Gen.-Esther. Longwood, FL: Xulon. Google Books.

Keener, C.S. 2014. IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.  AMAZON.

Moorey, P.R.S. 1991. Century of Biblical Archaeology. Louisville, KY: Westminster. Google Books.

Price, J.R. 2017 Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books

Thompson, G.L. 2016. Bible Background: Geo., Hist. & Daily Life of Bible Times. KINDLE    

Vos, Howard. 1999. Nelson's New Illustrated Bible Manners and Customs. Nashville, TN: Nelson.  Google Books.

Walton, J.H., et al. 2000. IVP Bible Background Commentary: Old Testament. Downers Grove, IL: IVP. AMAZON.

Walton, J.H., et al. 2009. Zondervan Bible Backgrounds Commentary: O.T. Grand Rapids,MI: Zondervan. AMAZON.

Geography:

Aharoni, Yohanan. 1979. Land of the Bible. Philadelphia, PA: Westminster. Google Books.

Beitzel, B.J. 2007. Biblica: the Bible Atlas: A Social and Historical Journey... London, UK: New Holland. Google Books.

Beitzel, B.J. 2009. New Moody Atlas of the Bible. Chicago, IL: Moody.  Google Books

Brisco, T.V. 1999. Holman Bible Atlas. Nashville, TN: Holman.  Google Books.

Curtis, Adrian. 2009. Oxford Bible Atlas. New York, NY: Oxford. Google Books

DeVries, L.F. 2006. Cities of the Biblical World: ... Archaeology, Geography... Eugene, OR: Wipf & Stock. Google Books.

Holman eds. 2011. Holman QuickSource Bible Atlas. Nashville, TN: Holman. Google Books.

Miller, S.M. 2017. Who's Who and Where's Where in the Bible. Uhrichsville, OH: Barbour. AMAZON.

O'Brien, J., et al. Atlas of Religion. Oakland, CA: Univ. of California Pr.   AMAZON 

Rasmussen, C.G. 2014. Zondervan Atlas of the Bible. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books.

Wright, P.H. 2013. Rose Then and Now Bible Atlas. Carson, CA: Rose.  AMAZON.

 Zollars, E.V. 1895. Bible Geography. (Read.) Cincinnati, OH: Standard. Google Books

Biography:

Barnes, C.R. 1884. Hand-Book of Bible Biography. Slide cursor on front edge. New York, NY: Phillips & Hunt. Archive.org

Blaiklock, E. M. 1987. Today's Handbook of Bible Characters. Wheaton, Ill. : Bethany. AMAZON.

Sears, Robert. 1842.  Bible Biography. (Read) New York, NY: Redfield. Google Books. 

Whyte, Alexander. 2014. AMG Concise Bible Characters. Chattanooga, TN: AMG Pub. AMAZON.

Whyte, Alexander. 2011. Bible Characters. PriMedia e-Launch. Google Books.

Biblical Theology:

Bruce, F.F. 1969. New Testament Development of Old Testament Themes. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. AMAZON.

Dodd, C.H. 1963. Old Testament in the New. Philadelphia, PA: Fortress. AMAZON.

Dumbrell, W.J. 1984. Covenant and Creation: ...Old Testament Covenants. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker. AMAZON.

Dyrness, W. 1980. Themes in Old Testament Theology. Downers Grove, IL: IVP.  AMAZON.

Goppelt, L. 1981-1982. Theology of the New Testament. 2 vol. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans.  AMAZON.

Grudem, Wayne. 2000. Gift of Prophecy in the New Testament and Today.  Wheaton, IL: Crossway. AMAZON.

Guthrie, Donald. 1981. New Testament Theology. Downers Grove, IL: IVP. AMAZON.

Hagner, D.A., et al.  2012. Theology of the New Testament.  Cambridge, U.K.: Lutterworth. AMAZON.

Hasel, G.F.  1984. New Testament Theology: Basic Issues...  Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. AMAZON.

Hasel, G.F. 1991. Old Testament Theology: Basic Issues in Current Debate.  Grand Rapids: MI: Eerdmans. AMAZON.

Hawthorne, G. 1993. Dictionary of Paul and His Letters. Downers Grove, IL: IVP. AMAZON

Kaiser, W.C. 1991. Toward an Old Testament Theology. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books.

Martens, E.A.  2015. God's Design: A Focus on Old Testament Theology. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker. Google Books.

Morris, Leon. 2011. New Testament Theology. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. Google Books.

Robertson, O.P. 1981. Christ of the Covenants. Philipsburg, NJ: Presbyterian & Reformed. AMAZON.

Sailhamer, J.H. 1995. Introduction to Old Testament Theology: A Canonical Approach. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. AMAZON

Sauer, Erich. 2012. Dawn of World Redemption: A Survey...in the Old Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. Google Books.

Sauer, Erich, et al. 1985. Triumph of the Crucified: A Survey of...Salvation in the N.T. Grand Rapids,MI: Eerdmans. AMAZON.

Vriezen, T.C. 1958. Outline of Old Testament Theology. Newton, MA: Bradford.  AMAZON. Used copies only.

Waltke, B.K. 2011.  Old Testament Theology.  Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.  Google Books.

Commentaries on the Whole Bible:

 Older Commentaries on the Bible. 107 Online. StudyLight.

Bible Backgrounds Commentaries. See above under Backgrounds and Archaeology.

Utley, Bob. Free Bible Commentary. Multilingual. Online. Bible Commentary.

Adeyemo, Tokunboh, et al.  Africa Bible Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI:  Word Alive.  Google Books.

Albright, W.N, et al. 1964-  Anchor Bible (Commentary). Garden City, NY: Doubleday. AMAZON.

Anon. Christian Classics Ethereal Library. Online.  Search for Specific Books of the Bible.

Anon. Classic Christian Library (Calvinistic and Reformed authors) Online. Old Testament. New Testament.

Anon. Critical and Exegetical Commentary. Online. Archive.org. Not in Biblical order.

Carter, C.W., et al. Wesleyan Bible Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI:  Eerdmans. AMAZON. 

Cross, F.M., et al. Hermeneia: a Critical & Historical Commentary on the Bible. Philadelphia, PA: Fortress. AMAZON.

Dharamraj, Havilah, et al. 2015. South Asia Bible Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI: Open Door. Google Books.

Fee, Gordon.  New International Commentary: New Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans.  AMAZON.

Gaebelein, F.E., et al. 1976-  Expositor's Bible Commentary: New Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. AMAZON.

Gaebelein, F.E., et al. 1976-  Expositor's Bible Commentary: Old Testament.  Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan. AMAZON. Scroll down.

Goodacre, Mark, et al. New International Greek Testament Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. AMAZON.

Harrison, R.K. 1965. New International Commentary: Old Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. AMAZON.

Howley, B., et al. 1979. New Layman's Bible Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.  AMAZON.

Mayes, J.L., et al. 1988.  Harper's Bible Commentary.  San Francisco, CA: Harper & Row.  AMAZON.

McComber, W.E.  Beacon Bible Expositions. Online. Wesleyan Holiness Digital Library.

Morris, Leon.  2009. Tyndale New Testament Commentaries. Downers Grove, IL: IVP. AMAZON.

Pfeiffer, C.F., et al. 1969. Wycliffe Bible Commentary. Chicago, IL:  Moody.   AMAZON

Rydelnik, Michael, et al. 2014. Moody Bible Commentary.  Chicago, IL: Moody. Google Books.

Wenham, G.J., et al. 1994. New Bible Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. AMAZON. 

Wiseman, D.J., et al. 1967-  Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries.  Downers Grove, IL: IVP. AMAZON. 

Commentaries on Specific Books of the Bible: 

Carson, D.A.  2013. New Testament Commentary Survey. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.  AMAZON.

Holman, C.L. and R.J. Pannell. Bibliography for Biblical Studies. Website.

Longman, Tremper. 2013. Old Testament Commentary Survey. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.  AMAZON.